Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Will a series 2 engine fit into a 2008 VE V6 Berlina? engine replacement options..

Reaction score
Members Ride
Ve commodore
I have 2008 VE Berlina that has had the timing chain let go, after getting quotes to
replace the timing chain I feel like it would be cheaper to swap the whole engine out.

I would be getting this done by a mechanic because I have zero mechanical knowledge.

I would like to avoid putting the same series engine into the care for obvious reasons
regarding the timing chain.

What are my options?

Can I just drop a series 2 V6 in no probs?

If not what are my options?

Capsule

Reaction score
Members Ride
MY09 VE Omega
You would need a full engine with loom, ecu, tcm, transmission, maybe the accessories too, exhaust, because a series 2 v6 would be a SIDI one, so it might end up much more expensive than just getting the chain fixed. As a matter of facts, you'd rather godown the V8 conversion route, it would be as complicated as a SIDI conversion.

Xplaya

Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV
Wouldnt be cheap though ^^

What do you mean by chains let go? Did they break?

On a budget, If engine swap, your better off going with another engine the same as yours so its a straight engine swap no messing around with loom, ecu etc. Just get the chains and that done before installing.

If engine light is telling you its the chains, then it be cheaper to get the chains done. Just dont get it done at Holden. Ring around local mechanics that have done the job before..

Reaction score
Members Ride
Ve commodore
Yeah they broke :(

Yeah i juat dont want the same issue in the future.
Ive been quoted 3.5k to fix, figured engine swap would be cheaper :-/

Capsule

Reaction score
Members Ride
MY09 VE Omega