Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Problem with VY acceleration??

pedroc

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SS UTE
Hey guys, just wondering if anyone can help me diagnose a bit of a problem.
The mrs complained to me that her car was playing up, so ive taken it for a spin and it sure is.
Basically when it is under power about 2000rpm it is coughing and spluttering, losing power then
getting power. feels almost like air in the lines or something to do with the injection??
Im no mechanic so i dont really know. When the car was serviced a month or so ago the
mechanic said she needed new spark plug leads which she didnt get. Could this be the
problem? Or any suggestions as to what it might be??

Thanks

edals

Reaction score
Members Ride
-
I Would first start mate getting new Leads, Plugs and a new fuel & air filter then go from there, start with the basics first :)

Sean880

Reaction score
Members Ride
2012 VE SV6 ser 2 and 911 Porsche Carrera S 997
I agree with Edals post above.

From what you have described the engine is missing under load and the most likely cause is one or more of the leads are on their way out - like the mechanic advised. I would replace them first and then test the car to see if you have eliminated the problem.

2. As a next step you should certainly replace the spark plugs if they are a few years old or due for replacement or if you have no record of when they were last changed. I strongly suspect the problem is the leads though.

pedroc

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SS UTE
Thanks for the responses guys.