Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Your parents and technical stuff

Astranomical

Ecotec just kicked in yo
Reaction score
Members Ride
AH Astra (daily), VX Berlina, VN Calais, Mazda 626
So last night my main PC farted and shat itself and died. Anyway, I was having a look at it, and my parents were going on about me electrocuting myself. I'm a university student, studying IT, and I've been working with computer hardware for just on 10 years. For most of those 10 years my parents have gone on about me electrocuting myself, since they think that *every* part in a computer runs at 240VAC. I explain to them, "Thats why you have a power supply, to convert the big bad 240VAC to the 3.3/5/12 VDC required to run the computer", which goes in one ear and out the other.

For some reason when it comes to just about anything technical not working properly, my parents always act like a bunch of retarded special school students...I remember a few years back when the Traumatic in the WB shat itself, I said something to someone about it, and Mum tried to explain to me that it was the gearbox that was blown, not the transmission. I tried to explain that they're the same thing, just with a different name, which didn't work.

Anyone else have these sort of experiences? :bang:

Tom_1569

Ecotech Power
Reaction score
Members Ride
'14 SR5 Pusslux
There is a thread already on this, and I thought you started it lol. Ill find it later.

pow3rslave

DoNothing Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VP 5.0L
There is a thread already on this, and I thought you started it lol. Ill find it later.
lol, i think i started that, but it died. if mods want to merge these i'm sure goVZ won't mind