Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

1986 VL Won't Start

Discussion in 'VL Holden Commodore (1986 - 1988)' started by lolSam, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. rhinos

    rhinos New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    VYII R8
    lol, i bet its your cas dude. I replaced mine twice before I got it in the right spot. Cas Plug or Internal. Good Luck.
     
  2. lolSam

    lolSam New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Members Ride:
    1986 VL Executive
    but I have spark?

    oh and I threw ~10L of fuel in, no difference.
     
  3. stander

    stander New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VL Executive
    Try another cas - i put a new one in last week and got towed, she ran sweet today melbourne to ballarat and back with another new one (got a refund for the dud cas) Filled her up with premium too for a change.
     
  4. Nackerz

    Nackerz Rollin

    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2 n/a vl's 1 twin turbo vl vn ss vy sv8
  5. lolSam

    lolSam New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Members Ride:
    1986 VL Executive
    The only other CAS I have around is one from the old dizzy.. and I can't get the CAS out of it.. Cause the gold plate (Drew an arrow, the one undernearth: [​IMG] won't come out)

    Yeah I can hear the fuel pumps fine.
    I live in Eastern Suburbs, out Ringwood way.
     
  6. Nackerz

    Nackerz Rollin

    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2 n/a vl's 1 twin turbo vl vn ss vy sv8
  7. lolSam

    lolSam New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Members Ride:
    1986 VL Executive
    Just an update if anybody is interested.

    Took it to a mechanic. He got it going by tightening an earth, then shut it off & it wouldn't go again.
    Got an Auto Elec to check it out & it ended up being a Fusible Link connection that goes to the battery, he bypassed it & she's running like a dream! Has a few new shiny parts now too :D

    Thanks for all the help everyone.
     
  8. 86VLred

    86VLred New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Location:
    Cairns
    Members Ride:
    VL Berlina 1986
    fuel pump for sure mate. there are two you know?
    don't let your fuel get under 1/3 it'll screw up every time
     
  9. lolSam

    lolSam New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Members Ride:
    1986 VL Executive
    Read post above.

    I know there are two, I stated in previous posts both have been replaced but it's good now! Thanks :)
     
  10. thesilverskull

    thesilverskull New Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    bendigo, victoria
    Members Ride:
    VL Berlina Wagon
    i dont know if it has been mentioned but also as for the fuel pump blowing fuses, check the oxy sensor it runs off the fuel pump fuse foe some unknown reason and had my local eleccy stumped for days
     
  11. lukee1986

    lukee1986 New Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location:
    gagebrook, tas
    Members Ride:
    vx series 2 2001 3.8 lt
    no1s mention tps also ur elec mechanic bypassed it which means there still a problem any photos be great
     

Share This Page