Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

2 bar map sensor

plymouth_hemi_69

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
564
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
tearoha nz
Members Ride
vs v6 turbo, vn v8 turbo
hey im looking at getting this New Buick supercharged V6 map sensor (2 bar) for sale - TradeMe.co.nz - New Zealand for my vs commodore my question to him was .hey mate im currently upping the boost on my supercharger. Would this fit my Eco tech engine? and he replies Only if your running an aftermarket computer that requires an external 0-5v signal from a map sensor. Thanks

im afraid i dont understand can someone help me out can i swap my standard map sensor with this 1? and also i understand it will need a retune
 

plymouth_hemi_69

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
564
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
tearoha nz
Members Ride
vs v6 turbo, vn v8 turbo
also wondering

does anyone know will the standard l67 injectors be fine for me to boost 10 -12 psi (
they are 36lb injectors)

also who knows about bearings for a new pully getting 1 made up but need some pix or explained as to what people mean buy saying make sure you get bearings with your new pully

cheeers
 

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
if you got a vs it doesnt run map sensor so essentially you wont need one unless you decide to convert to earlier model ecu or aftermarket ecu (most of which have inbuilt map sensors anyway
 

plymouth_hemi_69

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
564
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
tearoha nz
Members Ride
vs v6 turbo, vn v8 turbo
so

you are saying i can just put in injectors and get a tune?
 

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
yes pretty much yours runs a maf sensor instead of map sensor
 

plymouth_hemi_69

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
564
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
tearoha nz
Members Ride
vs v6 turbo, vn v8 turbo
ok

thanks heaps for your help any idea on the other questions at all?
 

vnrockit

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
41
Members Ride
vn calais & vt acclaim
yes you should be able to use that map sensor but you will need to wire it into your ecu
and have a mafless tune done make sure there is a tuner that can do mafless tunes with kalmarker around you first
i also tapped a mat sensor into the lim before i got tune done
super6 injectors are good for a bit over 300hp
 

plymouth_hemi_69

New Member
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
564
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
tearoha nz
Members Ride
vs v6 turbo, vn v8 turbo
thanks

for that but i think i will stay without one now cheers but any other info would be great on the tuning side of things
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
yip VS wont have a MAP sensor has a maf instead you van roll back to VR auto ecu to get MAP sensor capabuility and auto control are you auto or manual.or you can get a kalmaker workshop tune to replace the MAF sensor with a MAP sensor.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
13
Points
0
Members Ride
VN S1
You can get a reprogrammed ecu that reads both together i was reading about it today although its really a lot of money wasted in your case as a map sensor isnt needed.
 
Top