Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

304 cam upgrade

Polky304

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Ute 5L 5spd
g'day gents,

i have a 1998 series 3 VS 5lt manual ute (non-roller motor) as good as stock apart from the exhaust. im thinking of changing the cam over for a bigger one and then having it tuned. im not looking to build an insane skid pig or anything like that, just looking for a little more boogie and more of a lumpy idle.

I'm a diesel mechanic by trade not a petrol mechanic or race engine builder so please excuse my ignorance and vague questions!

1) Which cam/s would suit a stock engine like mine?
2) Depending on the extremity of the cam, how big can you go before valve train improvements are needed? or should the valve train be upgraded regardless?
3) how big is the job? approximate time needed to carry out the job?
4) Any precautions/traps to be wary of?

Some of the cams ive been considering are Crow 4651 & 4666 or Crane 276, 286.

I have more questions relevant to this topic but ill bring them up later on as i need.

Ian Johnston

Reaction score
Members Ride
2015 Subaru Forester, XR6 turbo ute.
Have a read of the stock 304 cam section just above your thread.

pjdm1980

Shut up Jr I'm thinkin!
Reaction score
Members Ride
E1 GTS BUILD NO# 007, GQ Patrol.
I've got a mate with a 1998 series 3 Caprice and it has a roller block standard but not a roller cam. He said you can tell by the height of the lifter bore. Maybe just change it over to a aftermarket roller cam and lifters while your at it?

PJDM1980

304runner

( .Y. )
Reaction score
Members Ride
VR 5.0 Ute & a 4runner with a VS SS trasplant
Bigger isn't always better when it come to cams. I'd be going something smaller that produces a heap of torque that is usable around town.