Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Alternative transmission cooler location? VT2 4l60e LS1

Lele

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT S2 SS LC9
This is my first post so if anything needs to be changed let me know.

So I have a built 4L60E to go in to my VT2 LS1 SS. It has a water to air intercooler for my HTV1900 and I still have factory aircon,radiator and PS loop. I would like to keep my a/c at all costs so not interested in “ripping out” my aircon. I’m no thermodynamics expert but I dare say another cooler out front will be counter productive? Correct me if I’m wrong please?

my question is; is there any common alternatives to mount the trans cooler? With or without factory radiator loop?

Pictures would be absolutely phenomenal

Had a scroll through search results relating to transmission coolers for 4L60E. Lots of threads about lines and what not.

TIA legends

Deuce

Super Stock
Reaction score
Members Ride
'94 VR SS V8
Any chance it is a ute and you can run the lines rearward, mount the cooler horizontally and put strong fans on top?
(note I have not looked under a.... Oh bugger it, they never made a VT ute.)
Just a thought. Note sure where would have space on your SEDAN

Skylarking

Reaction score
Members Ride
Commodore Motorsport Edition
Just as a general comment, if you want good cooling solutions, look at what the factory has engineered. As such, a good place to start would be to look at any LSA engined VF, especially the 410KW 2017 models. As is, the LSA supercharger is water cooled so there must be a pump and a water/air radiator somewhere (the workshop manual is a pain to navigate and unclear in my quick scan).

In any case, Holden has made sure that their supercharged engine is well cooled if for nothing else at least for warranty reasons.