Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Any DJ's out there?

dcBear

Reaction score
Website
flavors.me
Members Ride
2010 VE Calais
Earlier this year I fulfilled one of those things I have wanted to do for ages and that was start learning how to DJ. I did my research and for the money I wanted to invest the best option for me was a controller. So I bought a Native Instruments S4 and some studio monitors. I have been playing with this for a few months now. Like most of my hobbies I haven't really dedicated enough time to this, but I enjoy it none the less.

Thought I would start a thread as no doubt there are probably others out there who tinker at home like me. Maybe even some who actually play out. And probably some who are interested like I was. So let's discuss and share our work here. Hopefully this isn't just me here alone...

dcBear

Reaction score
Website
flavors.me
Members Ride
2010 VE Calais
So I will kick this off with some of my mixes. Like I said I am relatively new to this, but I do have a bit of a music background so the fundamentals of beatmatching and phrasing I find easy. These mixes, for the most part are very well planned and rehearsed before I hit the record button. I am trying to develop my skills to be able to spit out an acceptable mix live. But I find it hard as I want anything I am posting online to be perfect.

I will start with what I think is my best work. This is a short half hour mix I made. It is mostly melodic kind of Progressive House. At the time of doing this mix I was not aware of harmonic mixing. This is where my previous music experience comes in as I inadvertently mixed this harmonically (mixing songs in key that are complementary). It does have some EQ issues where in some places during the mix there is too much bass, but I am picky about my own work.