Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

boss amp problem

raised_fist

94 VR BT1
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
well i've been tryin to figure out why my amp won't let the sub or speakers work

what's happening is, the amp power is on, there's no red protection light coming on which tells me the ground, positive, and remote wires are fine, but still no speakers or sub are coming on

only thing i can think of is the amp is [email protected]!%ed or somethin has short circuted, but i pulled the case off and there seems to be no sign of burnouts in any or the resistors, etc....

it's been running fine since i put some crossovers in and hooked em up to mtx 6" splits, and mtx tweeters, i've also got some boss 6x9's and a mtx 15" sub hooked up to it, the front speakers are working cos theyr'e hooked up to the headunit, so i can hear sound, but not everything, it just stopped working when i took the headunit off standby, to cd, not even a bang, or pop or any nasty noise

wires seem to be hooked up fine though
any suggestions if anyone can help
cheers
 

raised_fist

94 VR BT1
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
oh and if anyone asks, i've checked the fuses, they're all good, so :S
i neeeeed bass desperately, treble hurts :(
 

VQXTC

Member
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
277
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
3rd planet from the Sun...
Members Ride
HSV VP Senator, VY SS Crewman
raised_fist said:
well i've been tryin to figure out why my amp won't let the sub or speakers work

what's happening is, the amp power is on, there's no red protection light coming on which tells me the ground, positive, and remote wires are fine, but still no speakers or sub are coming on

only thing i can think of is the amp is [email protected]!%ed or somethin has short circuted, but i pulled the case off and there seems to be no sign of burnouts in any or the resistors, etc....

it's been running fine since i put some crossovers in and hooked em up to mtx 6" splits, and mtx tweeters, i've also got some boss 6x9's and a mtx 15" sub hooked up to it, the front speakers are working cos theyr'e hooked up to the headunit, so i can hear sound, but not everything, it just stopped working when i took the headunit off standby, to cd, not even a bang, or pop or any nasty noise

wires seem to be hooked up fine though
any suggestions if anyone can help
cheers
What sort of Headunit are you running? Double check the amp is getting signal from the headunit......and if you have a multimeter then check the voltage at the amp on the remote, and the Positive terminal.....
If you dont have a multimeter then a test light will do....

Try this and see how you go.....
 

raised_fist

94 VR BT1
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
36
i tested the remote wire, otherwise it wouldn't turn on, true?

it's a kenwood mp3/wma headunit, spent $800 on it back in the day, only like 2 years old
 

garfa

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
1,937
Reaction score
22
Points
0
Age
34
Location
SE Victoria
Members Ride
VY SS
semi said:
theres your problem
i was going to restrain myself, i thought " no lets be mature, no bagging boss. the owners leave me bad rep!"
still nice post!


on a more serious note, boss do have a bit of a habit of breaking/burning down so if you are after a bit more reliability (sorry a wee bit pissed, can't spell too well) then maybe look for something else otherwise take that bad boy to a car audio shop.
 

yobbo88

Member
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
210
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Age
33
Location
the shire sydney
Members Ride
VH commodore SL wagon 253
does the headunit have line out volume control in the menu somewhere? otherwise check your rca leads havent simply fallen out/come loose... it can happen im sure. simple problems sometimes. other than that ill have to agree boss isnt great. although my friend and his "sweet sweet barina" has a sony xplod sub and a 2ch boss amp in it and its insane. bassiest thing ive heard!! those little bastard hatch backs are a sub box themselves. i did install it of course... :whistling
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
124
Points
63
Age
38
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
Look, I really REALLY dislike BOSS amps and there is a reason for that.

I hate to say it but it sounds like you've been BOSSed. Check everyones advice for sure but I'm willing to lay down $10 on anyone willing to collect it that the issue is the amplifier and for your sake I hope I'm wrong.
 

calais_cruzin

Calais_Rattling....
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Location
Gold Coast
Members Ride
92 VP Calais 3.8
Id go check that u are gettin 12v to it the boss amp i had wouldnt llight up the protect light unless there was NO ground....if it was only groundin out 6v it would still light the green light up as if there was no problem but the sub would barly moved.....id just check ya power with multimetre see if its gettin the right voltage.....to check if its the RCA's get sumone else with a amp with line out and run the leads from the line out from one amp to urs if its the same as b4 theres sumfink wrong with the amp....if the amp is fuged get a better brand... boss are crap there freq adjustments do nuffin and arent very effeicent...
 

barbs

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
251
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
34
Location
w-sydney
Members Ride
VZ Monaro CV8
if possible grab a mates amp, hook it up and see if it works, thats how i check whiether its an amp or a wire issue.

theres every chance its the amp. but my mate has had a boss amp for yonks and no problems... i still cant believe its still working after some of the abuse it has been involved in.
 
Top