Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ebay is awsome

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by 38VNIT, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
  2. CSL

    CSL Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Members Ride:
    missus (in more ways than one)
    nice tacho, but you should extent your rev limiter so you can see the needle move
     
  3. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
    ??
    what u mean remove the rev limiter, the needle will move?
     
  4. azzfox

    azzfox Braaap.

    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Yarra Valley, VIC
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    he said EXTEND... i think he was being sarchastic seeing there is a rev limiter set around 5,000rpm and the tacho can go to 11,000rpm
     
  5. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
    lol, blonde moment there...
     
  6. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    Couldnt ya get one for $60 anyway from repco or something? One that does work...
     
  7. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
    na the 5" ones are $250 cheapest at super cheap, and the 3 1/4" at supercheap are 120 (60$ on sale) and i brought this 5" one for 41 and 19$ postage, gunna piss my mate of who brought a 3 1/4" with built in shift light...
     
  8. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    I'll take a 3 1/4 anyday over a 5 inch tho. Little overkill isnt it?
     
  9. dezrik

    dezrik New Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VN 5.0L Berlina S2 Slushbox
    You know, with all this talk of inches, I'm real tempted to make off colour jokes.
     
  10. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
    lol yea i was against big tacho's cause they look dicky, but for 40$ i can easily re sell it here in my town for 150$ lol so ill attemp it and see if i like it...
     
  11. PaRaDoX

    PaRaDoX Because Racecouch...

    Messages:
    3,286
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    none
    lol @ 11,000 rpm, planning on running a rotary are we???

    RING-DING-DING-DING-DING.....VROOOOOOOM!!!!!!!! *gets up on 2 wheels* VRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRM-MMMMMM-MMMMMMM-MMMMMM *bang*
     
  12. FadeToBlack

    FadeToBlack New Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VX II Calais L67
    hahahahaha exactly what I was thinking :D
     
  13. fazz1977

    fazz1977 myspace.com/fazz_himself

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    Frankghanistan, Melbourne, VIC
    Members Ride:
    1992 VP Executive Wagon, L27 V6 3800
    Nice score mate.
     
  14. commy92

    commy92 New Member

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VP WAGON V6
    hey my car is on those pics.. the 6th pic in. I sent him that pic though. The only thing is matey is that thses tachos wont work on a car with a computer. Well mine wont anyway. Works on my dads fj but not on my vp.
     
  15. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
    are you sure, cause 2 people with vn's ahve said they wrok fine...
     
  16. 38VNIT

    38VNIT Azerium

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    Inverell
    Members Ride:
    nothing
    can anyone elaborate on this, and tell me if it is true how u can fix it...
     
  17. Patrio7

    Patrio7 3Y3 K4N 5P33K 1337.

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Como
    Members Ride:
    '96 S1 VS Exec
    heh i was thinking tak's upgraded race spec 4a-ge 4cyl NA engine ^_^ that does 11,000rpm.....

    ( for those that dont know, tak = Takumi, driver of a hatch back car in the japanese animated series, Initial D )
     
  18. YSOBLU

    YSOBLU New Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    Melb - North
    Members Ride:
    VB Commodore - Modded
    The tacho should work fine if you run it from the tacho pulse line thats behind the passengers side strut tower..... or if your current dash does not have a tacho you could tap into the tacho pulse wire that goes to the cluster... either way it will work, but its not possible to just add it to the negative side of the coils and let it work, it just wont....

    But definately should work if wired up as above
     
  19. VNPOWER

    VNPOWER New Member

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    My00 Wrx 240kwatw
    bro its not going to work..

    good luck tho
     
  20. 1991_Vn2nV

    1991_Vn2nV New Member

    Messages:
    8,718
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
    Members Ride:
    91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
    Why not? Mine works fine.
     

Share This Page