Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

For Farts Sake! TACHO

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by Bundy_VN, Jul 27, 2006.

  1. Bundy_VN

    Bundy_VN VN Rev-Head

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    In the carport, under the bonnet.
    Members Ride:
    VN Exec S2
    Ive hooked my Speco Tacho up, and i've done it correctly and it works, but not if you put on the lights (including hi-beams) or sometimes when you use the brakes (it drops back to 0 revs). I know you're all sick of Tacho questions but I'm about this close to chucking the thing to the shithouse and I'd rather not. So if anyone has any ideas, please...:bang: :bang:
     
  2. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    Could be a short somewhere. Is it wired up to illuminate when you turn the lights on? If it is, i'd start by looking at that wiring. Or you could bin it and get a L2/L3 cluster;)
     
  3. cracker

    cracker New Member

    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    mine did the samem, its a poor earth or power supply. fix these and it shall be fine.
     
  4. Bundy_VN

    Bundy_VN VN Rev-Head

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    In the carport, under the bonnet.
    Members Ride:
    VN Exec S2
    Yeah i've changed the Earth and its still being difficult, it's gotta be the power supply, I'll have another look tomorrow after work. If all else fails then i'll get the L2 or L3 Cluster and find something to cover the holes in the Steering Column. Thanks anyway guys.
     
  5. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    Well i was having trouble with power suply. I ended up running the wires to the cigarette lighter. I used the earth and power from the cigarette lighter and also got the tacho light from the cigarette lighter aswell. Worked a treat for me.
     
  6. Bundy_VN

    Bundy_VN VN Rev-Head

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    In the carport, under the bonnet.
    Members Ride:
    VN Exec S2
    Hmmm, sounds like an idea, I dont smoke or have little annoying neons using it so it should be good. Thanks man.
     
  7. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    I can still use my cigarette lighter if i want. it still works. I just taped into the wires. I just thought the cigarette lighter would be the easyest because it has power earth and light all in one place. If you try it let us know how u go.
     
  8. Bundy_VN

    Bundy_VN VN Rev-Head

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    In the carport, under the bonnet.
    Members Ride:
    VN Exec S2
    K, I'll give it a try after work tomorrow. Also while I'm here, you got any idea why my console (including dash all the way along) creaks when you push it? Its not affecting the ride in anyway, its just a bitch when you lean on it.
     
  9. coolvxss

    coolvxss New Member

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    canberra
    Members Ride:
    5sp VN Executive1988, VX SS 6sp
    Wouldnt have a clue but mine does it aswell. Im sure its not an uncommon problem.
     
  10. VKStevo

    VKStevo New Member

    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VP Exec
    sounds strange, sounds like an earth problem, i got a speco tacho a little while ago and the lights on it dont work at all
     
  11. Stretchomatic

    Stretchomatic New Member

    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    Ardlethan, NSW
    Members Ride:
    86 VL Berlina M5
    haha the creaks and what not are standard on commodores aren't they?...
     

Share This Page