Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Installing towbar wiring harness

Tylersdad

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Acclaim
Hi, newbie here,

I've looked and can't find any installation instructions (if you know where can you pls point me in the right direction).

I have purchased a wiring harness so i can tow trailers etc, and wish to install it.
It plugs in to the wiring loom so that part should be straight forward. Or have i purchased a harness not designed for a VY? Thats ok i suppose as i can just use the usual old school connectors to join the wires. I have found other threads on towbar harness's but they did not have a plug-in connector, nor installation instructions.

Can anyone advise the correct/easiest procedure to get to the wiring loom in the rear.
i don't want to start removing parts that are not needed to be undone.

Many thanks

maginoodle

Reaction score
Members Ride
vy series2 ss crewman
it should be connected into the harness on the drivers side of the boot under the carpet ner the taillight. do a search there are a 35 threads that contain the word trailer and the answer is there for you to find.

AUSFITTER

Reaction score
Members Ride
2003 VY SS series 2
Like maginoodle said mate, it is on the drivers side under the carpet in the boot. Mine was on that side, but was in the little "hole" i guess you could say on that side on the floor.

Tylersdad

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Acclaim
cheers.
i presume i can pull the carpet back then. no need to unscrew the plastic boot lip.

and the wiring feeds up somehow through the floorplan (a rubber grommet?),

Calaber

Nil Bastardo Carborundum
Reaction score
Members Ride
CG Captiva 5 Series 2