Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

m20 n a VK commodore

Ls2_307

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2005
Messages
77
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VT SS 5.0

vkberlina

VK Madman
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
3,518
Reaction score
41
Points
48
Age
41
Location
NSW Central Coast
Website
www.members.westnet.com.au
Members Ride
VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
Yeah should work just fine,

I wount buy a box without inspecting it first though, oyu need to knock the side plate off and check the case hardening isnt coming off the gears. This esp happens on the cluster on 1st gear

Also check for slop in the cluster. These boxes are pretty easy to rebuild, as long as the gears are ok.

When you fill the box with oil use VMX 80.

cheers
Scott
 

craigvk

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
1,981
Reaction score
23
Points
38
Members Ride
VK 5L Calais
That would suit. If that box came out of a 253, the only difference being is it's a M20 which have different gear ratios in the box compared to the M21. Also the 253 V8 pressure plate and clutch plate are 60mm smaller from memory. I assume your VK is a stock 308?

I actually have a M20 complete without some things which I am looking at sticking in my 308. Funny that my pressure plate and clutch plate are the size for a 308 even though it came out of a 253.

The only other thing you need is a Spigot bush for your crank I think. The speedo cable from the Trimatic will mount in ok I am sure.
 

vkhawkey

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vk commodore
needs a spigot bush when changing from auto to manual in a 202. not sure about the v8s. is that the case as well?
 

atrail308

RIP King of the Mountain
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
southside adelaide
Members Ride
V8 VH SL/E 308
go easy on your gear changes tho, ive popped a couple of those m20's...
 

synoptica

Stripping VK - PM me!
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
354
Reaction score
8
Points
18
Age
37
Location
SE Suburbs, VIC
Members Ride
No longer a Commodore
I'm looking at sticking one in mine to get rid of the horrid MC6 (Philipino box) - do they take the same clutch as the MC6 and M76?
 

atrail308

RIP King of the Mountain
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
272
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
southside adelaide
Members Ride
V8 VH SL/E 308
same flywheel, but different clutch and fork...
 

synoptica

Stripping VK - PM me!
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
354
Reaction score
8
Points
18
Age
37
Location
SE Suburbs, VIC
Members Ride
No longer a Commodore
I just called PBR and they reckon they're the same. **** :(
 

vkberlina

VK Madman
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
3,518
Reaction score
41
Points
48
Age
41
Location
NSW Central Coast
Website
www.members.westnet.com.au
Members Ride
VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
The 6cyl boxes ue the same clutch fork, clutch plate as the MC6 & M76 borgwarner boxes. The V8 box has a longer clutch fork, although the spline are the same on the input shaft the V8 used a bigger clutch.

If you want the ultimate clutch plate aligning tool,and you have a rooted M20/M21/MC6/M76 series box laying around get the input shaft out of it and juse it to align your clutch plate.

cheers
Scott
 
Top