Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Navigation issue

Discussion in 'VF Holden Commodore (2013 - 2017)' started by geoffwm, Jul 3, 2014.

  1. geoffwm

    geoffwm New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Beaches NSW
    Members Ride:
    Calais VF
    Hi Guys,

    I am experiencing an unsatisfactory operation in the navigation system.
    The issue relates to the “Points of Interest Icons” display. Of the two options “Show none” or “User Defined”; either of these options are valid only for the current session the vehicle is in operation, when the car is restarted the default for these icons is “Show all”.
    This is extremely irritating and distracting to have to reset these icons for every trip back to the driver’s options.
    The car has had two services, initial check and the nine month inspection. I have mentioned this problem on each occasion, the navigation system has been set to default twice with the report sheet stating all was in order. Obviously resetting the navigation settings to its default is not the answer as the problem remains.

    is any one out there having this same issue? the dealers just don't know the answer and their reports to Holden get no response.

    feed back from other VF owners would be great.
     
  2. Jingle Bells

    Jingle Bells Guest

    I am not familiar with your problem...but will look into it....I just let it load up with all the points of interest....like pit stops etc.

    But here is one for the books.....when I was in Coota the other day with the navigation on... and it said to make a right hand turn onto the Gundagai road ( no problems there ) and after travelling about 500m the lady in the nav. unit announced " THAT THIS WAS NOT A DIGITISED ROAD ".....but still the road features were all there to Gundagai.....STRANGE BEHAVIOUR FOR A LADY !!!!!!....maybe that time of the month....anyone detected this strange behaviour ???????
     
  3. 6LVFSS

    6LVFSS Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sth east Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF SS
    My GPS is absolutely useless.
    I can be 1 block away from my destination n it says I've arrived.I don't use it,I use my iPhone instead.I think Holden released the Storm to get rid of these faulty pieces of ****.
    I'm wishing now that I got a BMW,just thought id support Australia while I still can.
    On the upside,the roar of that American V8 is awesome.
     
  4. ejwagon

    ejwagon EJwagon

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    Hahndorf, SA
    Members Ride:
    VF v6 Calais
    Yep, had this today leaving Mildura and heading to Wentworth via the Silver City highway. Just for fun I put the SatNav on and was told this road was not "Digitised" I just googled it and it seems to mean that a section of the road is missing details to give you accurate information. I did not notice any issues after the message
     
  5. Jingle Bells

    Jingle Bells Guest

    Well I find the navigation unit top notch...when you know how to use it....my VF SV6 is a sept. 2013 build ( before future layoff's were announced ) and a thought just come to me when the lady says " this not a digitised road "...has the road diverted in part from the original road when the nav. unit was programmed and all it is doing is updating the part diversion from the original road.....and installing it on the Nav. unit via the eye in the sky ??????

    By the way if I put in the home address, number and street and it is spot on and even shows my location when I park it in the garage out the back....just off the street I live in.....it will also give you your latitude and longitude co-ordinates in degrees, minutes and seconds....from any spot where the car is....very handy if you have an army map one can locate you if you on the never never or in an outback situation providing you have you have contact with the emergency services.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2014
  6. ejwagon

    ejwagon EJwagon

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Location:
    Hahndorf, SA
    Members Ride:
    VF v6 Calais
    Yep, I am more than happy with the SatNav so far. March 2014 build has had no issues but will have a look at what OP is posting about
     
  7. geoffwm

    geoffwm New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Beaches NSW
    Members Ride:
    Calais VF
    Thanks for the response, but does anyone have my icon problem. I would like to know if its a software issue we all have or is it me alone. Thanks
     
  8. revster

    revster Active Member

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    30th Anniversary HSV Senator (Gone) MY19 Golf R
    I dont' have your problem. If I set POI off they stay off. I do not have to reset them next trip. I find the GPS as good as any. Dec 2013 build Calais.
     
  9. Bradvfssv

    Bradvfssv New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV
    VFSSV Nov 2013 - Satnav perfect no problems.
    PS - For greater car security, never store you exact home address in your Satnav and call it "Home".
     
  10. Jingle Bells

    Jingle Bells Guest

    An excellent idea.
     
  11. Jingle Bells

    Jingle Bells Guest

    Did not know that the Mylink will play dvd movies....not Blueray....only whilst the car is not moving.
     
  12. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon Motorsport Auto SOAG
    No major problems with the sat nav. One small little gremlin though, if you do not follow it's directions it says sometimes "perform an illegal U-turn". At first I thought I was hearing things but it has happened enough for me to listen to it to be sure that is what it is saying.
     
  13. AERO15

    AERO15 New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VN HDT Aero 5.0
    The only issue with satnav, I may be the only one with this issue, is now that I have enabled breadcrumbs, I can't seem to turn it off or untick the box. So I keep getting the "X amount of memory left" message.

    Anyone else experiencing this or know how to disable breadcrumbs?
     
  14. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon Motorsport Auto SOAG
    If you have sat nav you can play dvd movies as the mylink is equipped with a dvd drive, otherwise it is a cd based unit only. I have assumed it is used for updating the sat nav software. Can anyone confirm this. ??
     
  15. TinSnips

    TinSnips Polish all the things...

    Messages:
    4,865
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Hills District, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Ute
    Had no issues with sat nav until a couple of weeks ago, going to a job at Greenwich. Apparently my destination was 200m ahead when I was here:

    [​IMG]




    To be fair, I didn't really want to go to that job either and would have much preferred to spend the afternoon on the water.
     
  16. 6LVFSS

    6LVFSS Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sth east Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF SS
    I think the satnav has a few bugs.Im hoping they fix them with updates.
     
  17. Flukey

    Flukey New Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Redline
    When you hit the destination button, should you be able to type the address straight in? Mine has another step before you can which just seems illogical and I thought it may have been a fault.
     
  18. coleas

    coleas New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    yea my calais V say 'perform an illegal U turn' as well :)

    cracks my family up when it does it :)
     
  19. RavenSSV

    RavenSSV New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Location:
    orange nsw
    Members Ride:
    VF SSV Resline
    Press the tick, takes you to save screen. Enter anything then press done. Will return to previous screen and Record Box will be unticked. Press on Saved, select what you saved it as then press Delete. History wiped!
     
  20. zappaboy

    zappaboy Active Member

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V V6 Sportswagon Motorsport Auto SOAG
    Great idea about not putting your exact address in the Sat Nav but then dealers put the owners address details in the manual and this is stored in the glovebox.

    On the Sat Nav have found it quirky but they are all like this such as this is a digitised road or perform an illegal Uturn. In regard to the icons it is important to save your settings and sometimes the saving settings needs to be done more than once.

    The sat nav like all others is only as good as the updates it receives. Any feedback on when is going to be available. ??
     

Share This Page