Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

New camera time, at last!

Lumps of cheese

welcome to the machine
Reaction score
Members Ride
83 vh sle, 4x4 hilux, 03 monaro, 07 nightrain
Ok photography buffs!

I need some opinions on my first digital slr camera purchase. I've had a look at some and i'm after a good solid enrty level camera and have narrowed it down to 2.

The canon 1100d which comes with 2 lens for $1049

canon.jpg

Annnnd the nikon d3100 for about the same dough but with 14.2 mp as opposed to the 12.2 of the canon

nikon.jpg

Now, as i'm a noob i'm open to suggestions of others if you think that there are better alternatives than these two so any help would be great.
Cheers.

Stressball

Rolling on 4 again :D
Reaction score
Members Ride
Mitsubishi Triton
I use Canon goodies, and prefer them. That being said, i bought my dad a nikon d3000 and dont regret it. Really its a matter of preference. Nikon do have a great tutorial mode on their entry level cameras though, good for figuring out what all the bits n pieces do. Whichever you get you will be happy with, unless you turn out to be a perfectionist. In which case you will spend a fortune on lenses lol.

Ideally at least two lenses would be good, something from 18mm up to around 55 is a good walkaround lens, then you want something from maybe 70ish up to 200 or so for zoom shots.

Neither camera would feel very sturdy to me because I use stronger stuff now, but as far as build quality goes, they are equal and more than satisfactory. Unless you abuse them, you wont have any trouble.