Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

oil check light when accelerating from lights

Heffer_Slayer

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
519
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
VX Berlina
Hey all, got a Vx ls1. Took off a little quick from the lights and the oil light popped up.

This is the first time its done it, I pulled over and checked the oil. Oil level is fine hasn't used any since it's last change.

Should I be worried?
 

Heffer_Slayer

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
519
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
VX Berlina
Also is it saved in the memory? I have a obd cable which let's me clear/read fault codes. Worth while plugging it in?
 

someguy360

Beer, bacon and speed parts.
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
2,558
Reaction score
1,025
Points
113
Location
SA
Members Ride
94' VR 304 - 05' Navara - 12' Sorento
Could just be a loose wire on the Oil pressure switch, have seen that before.....on hard acceleration the wire moved and caused the light to flick on.

I would get an oil pressure gauge ASAP though and check to make sure it's not something more serious like an oil pump, pickup or even a dud oil filter.

Remember, even a few seconds with no oil pressure can kill a motor.....so be careful.


Personally I wouldn't be driving it until you know whats going on
 

Heffer_Slayer

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
519
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
VX Berlina
Plugged in my obd and no trouble codes were detected. Is like to think of it was something serious it would be stored in the codes.

Was only that one time under acceleration. The car did rock slightly so it would have been a miss read from the sensor or like you said loose wire. Where is the switch BTW?
 

someguy360

Beer, bacon and speed parts.
Joined
Jan 29, 2011
Messages
2,558
Reaction score
1,025
Points
113
Location
SA
Members Ride
94' VR 304 - 05' Navara - 12' Sorento
Plugged in my obd and no trouble codes were detected. Is like to think of it was something serious it would be stored in the codes.

Was only that one time under acceleration. The car did rock slightly so it would have been a miss read from the sensor or like you said loose wire. Where is the switch BTW?
I'm not sure if you get a code for low oil pressure.....pretty sure you only get one from no oil pressure at all

The oil pressure switch is the sensor with wires running out of it on your oil pump
 

VS_Pete

Donating Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
4,857
Reaction score
17,825
Points
113
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
The car did rock slightly so it would have been a miss read from the sensor or like you said loose wire.
Did it rock and make a noise from the engine????
Pickup could be partly blocked.
 
Top