Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

oil pressure gauge install question

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by Slow_Az, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. Slow_Az

    Slow_Az New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    04' VY s11 Cosmo "S"
    hi all, just wondering if the so called one size fits all senders that come with the autometer and drift crystal series gauges work with vy2 or would i have to buy something else? autometer cobalt series gauges i'm looking at, but also looking at the Drift crystal series (AutoBarn) also as when there's no power, the dials are blank. any help here would be much appreciated.

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    not sure on this "one size fit all" but i know for a fact that autometer pressure senders are normally a 1/8" npt fitting but come with a 1/4" npt adaptor for engines that have a standard 1/4"npt oil presure fitting (as the ecotec has). it's best to fit a "T" piece so that the factory presure sender and autometer sender both work. here's a pic of mine before i fitted a remote mounted filter(which has both oil temp and pressure fittings, the pic is for a buick 3800 but you get the idea)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Slow_Az

    Slow_Az New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    04' VY s11 Cosmo "S"


    thanks for that. i think i'll do it the same way. seems simple and neat. just one more question, where would i get my hands on a t piece from? the local repco should have it right?
     
  4. warrick

    warrick Active Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF 6.0 CALAIS V
    is your car a v6 or v8 as they are completely different?
    cheers
    warrick
     
  5. Slow_Az

    Slow_Az New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    04' VY s11 Cosmo "S"

    it's a v6 vy s2
     
  6. warrick

    warrick Active Member

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Location:
    brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VF 6.0 CALAIS V
    yeah well the way its shown in the previous picture is the way to do it.just a tee piece so both sender units are attached.if you dont leave the original as well you will get a red light & fault code coming up.
    cheers
    warrick
     
  7. Slow_Az

    Slow_Az New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    04' VY s11 Cosmo "S"
    thanks guys. i'll look about the shops for a tee piece.
     
  8. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,636
    Likes Received:
    2,601
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    i'd try a local engineering suply shop, they are probably cheaper then repco. you also need a 1/4"npt nipple so that you can fit the "T" into the engine fitting
     
  9. Marks-VY

    Marks-VY I love cars

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VT2 Berlina
  10. Slow_Az

    Slow_Az New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Location:
    South Eastern Suburbs Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    04' VY s11 Cosmo "S"
    tee piece in place, no leaks, now i have no idea which wires i can tap into for power for lights and for the ignition. any help would be great. the guide for the vn install was great but i dont think the wires are the same in the vy 2.

    marks vy, i was lucky enough like you too. just able to put the plug back on.
     
  11. Tys346

    Tys346 Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Gatton
    Members Ride:
    2002 Vy ute manual

Share This Page