Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

remote key

N

nigel76

:bang: Have pulled key apart.
Need to know if i remove battery to replace it will the key need to be reprogrammed...... if so does anyone know how to program????

hako

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
No it doesn't need to be reprogrammed....I changed the battery on mine with no problems. On the VS the battery is electrically welded to tags which have to be cut and a new battery soldered to the tags. I think the VR is of a simpler design and the battery just slips or clips in.

broomie21

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SSV
Yeah Mate As soon as you pull the key apart the transponer head looses it's memory and has to be re programed by a locksmith or a holden dealer, Being a locksmith i see this reguarly. A new transponder head can cost between $50 and $90 Coded to your car

sillybilly205

Reaction score
Members Ride
1996 vs statesman 5.0
im a locksmith and i can program em :)

Doctor Bob

Grandpa
Reaction score
Members Ride
RG. Colorado & Caravan
broomie21 said:
Yeah Mate As soon as you pull the key apart the transponer head looses it's memory and has to be re programed by a locksmith or a holden dealer, Being a locksmith i see this reguarly. A new transponder head can cost between $50 and $90 Coded to your car

provided the battery hasnt been completely flat for ages no it wont loose its memory

Rob

K

Konker

ok stop paying holden millions. if you dont have a totaly flat battery for ages your swet. mem keeps for 6 months. and to reprogramme to car: put key in ignition. turn to "on" position and hold the "door" button for three seconds and start car. were gonna charge me $93 bucks to do the same.

Doctor Bob

Grandpa
Reaction score
Members Ride
RG. Colorado & Caravan