Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Respraying Fuel Door On VX

Reaction score
Members Ride
2001 VU II SS Ute
Hi all, so I recently got a new fuel door for my Quicksilver VX S off of a wrecked VX as my old one broke due to age and I am going to be respraying it as I am very fussy with the car. I am not experienced in respraying car parts and was wondering if I could get some useful advice in relation to the following:

- Best way to remove old paint?
- How many coats of primer, paint and clear coat would I need to do?

I have already ordered some primer, paint and clear coat spray too. Any advice is appreciated.

Attachments

• 20240304_130704.jpg
    20240304_130704.jpg
    356.5 KB · Views: 30

Lex

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Executive S1 V6 6 speed Auto Wagon
as my old one broke due to age
My fuel door flap broke too, last year. Maybe April?

Plastic welded it back on. First few times l filled with fuel, l broke it off again.
Last time l welded it back on, l tried for more penetration without ruining the paint on the out side.

That was June last year. Survived a few trips to Melbourne & a trip to NSW & back.
Hopefully its there to stay?

You couldn't track down another one, the same colour in good condition?

Reaction score
Members Ride
2001 VU II SS Ute
My fuel door flap broke too, last year. Maybe April?

Plastic welded it back on. First few times l filled with fuel, l broke it off again.
Last time l welded it back on, l tried for more penetration without ruining the paint on the out side.

That was June last year. Survived a few trips to Melbourne & a trip to NSW & back.
Hopefully its there to stay?

You couldn't track down another one, the same colour in good condition?