Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Roll Racing - how to ?

598rwhp

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VF2 V8 Calais V wagon
Hi Guys, I may not have the correct forum but, having my first go @ Roll Racing in a couple of weeks and other than attending & watching a few times I have no experience at this. Other than knowing it is a rolling start @ 40k's I am looking for input on how to launch my VF V8 auto. Do you manually shift / rely totally on the auto / some mix of both ?
Any input would be appreciated as I'm keen to have some fun in a controlled environment.

markalan1two

Smile and wave boys !!!!
Reaction score
Members Ride
X5 BMW, GenF2 GTS, HSV Y R8, AMG C43
you will have try and see what works for you, i think you would be in manual mode and shift with your paddles

598rwhp

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VF2 V8 Calais V wagon
you will have try and see what works for you, i think you would be in manual mode and shift with your paddles
Thanks John. No paddles in the VF but can use the stick in manual (just need to remember to push it up, not pull it back !!).

Ginger Beer

Reaction score
Members Ride
Dunnydoore
What rpm are you at in 2nd at 40kph?

Me, in a 4 speed, with 3.91 rear, with traction control off and sports mode on, I leave it in 2nd then mash the loud pedal and click into drive, hold on and try and keep it straight

You, with your 6 speed may just need to find out what gear has some rpm at 40kph, leave it in that until you hit it, then just throw it in drive

Don't worry too much about winning or losing in your first outing, focus more on what gear gives you your launch revs, and how hard you need to mash the pedal when you do launch