Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VK touch control panel question.

traindriver

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
79
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Christchurch
Members Ride
85 VK Sedan 3.3 Injected
The only button used on my touchtronic panel is the rear demistor.

Can I use the other switches on the panel?

I want to install an amp for a sub and the dude at the shop suggested I install a switch in the signal circuit to let me turn the amp on and off when I want, and I thought it would be cool to be able to use the touch panel to do that.

Thanks

AndrewOfNZ
 

vkberlina

VK Madman
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
3,518
Reaction score
41
Points
48
Age
41
Location
NSW Central Coast
Website
www.members.westnet.com.au
Members Ride
VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
The switches are momentry swiches and are low current used to control relays, control units etc for your demister, electric airial on berlina/calais, and wagons use one or two more for tail gate funtions i think wipers form memory.
You may be able to modify it to install an On/off switch.

If you want to get tricky have a look at my wiring diagrams on my site to see if you can wire up a demister control box to one of the other buttons up to drive a relay to control the remote wire on the amps.

cheers
Scott
 

Pub247

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2006
Messages
3,372
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Melbourne S.E.
Members Ride
Ford Fairmont
I have seen it done in a street commodores mag a guy had a calais with his amp / sub hooked up to them so it is probably possible
 

VKStevo

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
653
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VP Exec
i just wanna know y u want the amps hooked up to them?
 

VZCalZone

now choppin the VZ
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
246
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
vz calais, vx2 exec
traindriver said:
The only button used on my touchtronic panel is the rear demistor.

Can I use the other switches on the panel?

I want to install an amp for a sub and the dude at the shop suggested I install a switch in the signal circuit to let me turn the amp on and off when I want, and I thought it would be cool to be able to use the touch panel to do that.

Thanks

AndrewOfNZ
Which part of that didn't you get?
 

VKStevo

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
653
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VP Exec
umm, normally the amps turn on automatically, y would u want 2 do it manually?
 

VRSS

New Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
1,337
Reaction score
13
Points
0
Age
31
Location
Radelaide
Members Ride
VX Clubsport R8 6-Speed
traindriver said:
The only button used on my touchtronic panel is the rear demistor.

Can I use the other switches on the panel?

I want to install an amp for a sub and the dude at the shop suggested I install a switch in the signal circuit to let me turn the amp on and off when I want, and I thought it would be cool to be able to use the touch panel to do that.

Thanks

AndrewOfNZ
thats why?
 

VKStevo

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
653
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VP Exec
ok fair enough, have fun and i hope it works 4 u
 

VZCalZone

now choppin the VZ
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
246
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
vz calais, vx2 exec
yeah i was thinkin the amp would stay on but only the sub itself would go through the button.
 
Top