Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vs 304 ute wont start

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by jaydee 1944, Jan 12, 2019.

  1. woteva

    woteva NEED 4 SPEED

    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    786
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide S.A.
    Members Ride:
    VE2 Sportwagon - VR2 V6 ecotec Wag - VS2 V6 Wag
    I had no engine light on a friend's car a few weeks ago when checking codes because it wouldn't start. After much checking fuses, power and even getting my spare ecu out to try a swap, we found there was no globe in the engine light holder :mad:
     
  2. jaydee 1944

    jaydee 1944 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Location:
    mackay qld
    Members Ride:
    vs 304 v8 ute
    How would you pick it just luck I suppose
     
  3. jaydee 1944

    jaydee 1944 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Location:
    mackay qld
    Members Ride:
    vs 304 v8 ute
    ok sounds feasible will check tomorow
     
  4. jaydee 1944

    jaydee 1944 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Location:
    mackay qld
    Members Ride:
    vs 304 v8 ute
    will check this tomorrow
     
  5. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    3,134
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Should be noticeable when you turn key to reds.
     
  6. jaydee 1944

    jaydee 1944 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2019
    Location:
    mackay qld
    Members Ride:
    vs 304 v8 ute
    ok just replaced ecu it still wont start is the ecu just plug and play or is there some ritual you have to perform HELP
     
  7. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,847
    Likes Received:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    If it's series 1 and or 2 vs with map sensor not maf the ecu is plug and play.series3 maf ecu will need linked with a tech2 scan tool. Check the new ecu has a memcal plugged in under the removable cover
     
  8. Cbromz33

    Cbromz33 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Location:
    Alkimos
    Members Ride:
    Vs 5ltr
    Oi Fucken OI!!! This works. Thanks so much. spent 18 hours on this and its fucken 36degrees
     

Share This Page