Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] Vs l67 conversion

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by Tim Jennings, Jul 14, 2019.

  1. Tim Jennings

    Tim Jennings New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    Vs ute v6
    Hi gang . Little info required please. I have a vs auto ute. I have fitted a complete vs ecotec statesman loom in the ute. I have obtained a s/c l67 engine and auto from a vx calais. I have also Obtained a vs statesman l67 engine loom. Now the tricky part. I have the following ecu's. I have the standard ecotec vs statesman ecu. And I have the ecu from the vx calais that the l67 and auto came from. Also have a chip marked 'vt hsv xu6 supercharged', and I purchased a mace tuned chip for stage 2 cam 69 throttle body etc. ( work that's going to get done to mine). Can I use either of those ecu's with one of these chips, or do I have to buy a vs supercharged ecu and fit chip into that.
    Help would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers. Tim
     
  2. _R_J_K_

    _R_J_K_ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    429
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Zenki S14
    None of those ECUs or memcals are interchangeable. At a minimum you need to get any VS auto ECU (the Statesman one will be fine) and get a VS supercharged memcal, either the factory one or get somebody to burn you one, you can't use the VT or VX memcal. Either that or just get an entire VS S/C ECU that comes with the memcal.
     
  3. Tim Jennings

    Tim Jennings New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    Vs ute v6
    Thank you very much rjk for your input. Ok... I clearly didn't mention (late night for me and tired) that the mace tuned chip was for a vs l67 with stage 2 cam and throttle body. Soooo! your saying I can use that chip in the stock standard statesman vs (ecotec) auto ECU!!!!!
     
  4. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    Yes you can use that chip in the Ecotec ecu.
     
  5. Tim Jennings

    Tim Jennings New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2019
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    Vs ute v6
    Thank you very much utel67
     
  6. Sacha schonberger

    Sacha schonberger New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    Hamilton NZ
    Members Ride:
    Vs ute
    Hi folks, I'm new to the forum, looking for tips on a conversion, i have a vs ute 3.8 ecotec/auto. I've just bought a vx s/c calais complete running car. Should i gut the loom etc from the ute and change everything from the calais?, or just change parts and ecu & modules into the ute's loom etc.
     
  7. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    Use all the vs wiring just lengthen the wires that need doing, grab a vs L67 memcal with no vats and plug it in the vs PCM, you will need to drill and tap a hole under the thermostat housing for dash temp sender.
     
    Sacha schonberger likes this.
  8. Sacha schonberger

    Sacha schonberger New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Location:
    Hamilton NZ
    Members Ride:
    Vs ute
    Cheers, that'll make it easier. My ute has no extra's except central lock, no abs, no airbags.
     
  9. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    359
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Do you need to drill and tap a hole ?,
    As the Temp Sender on a L67, is located at the back on the left hand side, below the Thermostat Housing, [also below the blower bypass solenoid]
     
  10. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    That sensor is for the PCM, if you want the dash one to work it requires a temp sender to be fitted.

    Vs L67's had a adaptor on the back of the Lim (lower intake manifold) for the sender, Vt-Vy L67'S do not have it.
     
  11. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
  12. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    359
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Fair call,
    As I have only worked VX & VY's L67's and stock V6's.
     

Share This Page