Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] Vs l67 conversion

Tim Jennings

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
55
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
Vs ute v6
Hi gang . Little info required please. I have a vs auto ute. I have fitted a complete vs ecotec statesman loom in the ute. I have obtained a s/c l67 engine and auto from a vx calais. I have also Obtained a vs statesman l67 engine loom. Now the tricky part. I have the following ecu's. I have the standard ecotec vs statesman ecu. And I have the ecu from the vx calais that the l67 and auto came from. Also have a chip marked 'vt hsv xu6 supercharged', and I purchased a mace tuned chip for stage 2 cam 69 throttle body etc. ( work that's going to get done to mine). Can I use either of those ecu's with one of these chips, or do I have to buy a vs supercharged ecu and fit chip into that.
Help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers. Tim
 

_R_J_K_

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
6,088
Reaction score
1,308
Points
113
Members Ride
Zenki S14
None of those ECUs or memcals are interchangeable. At a minimum you need to get any VS auto ECU (the Statesman one will be fine) and get a VS supercharged memcal, either the factory one or get somebody to burn you one, you can't use the VT or VX memcal. Either that or just get an entire VS S/C ECU that comes with the memcal.
 

Tim Jennings

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
55
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
Vs ute v6
Thank you very much rjk for your input. Ok... I clearly didn't mention (late night for me and tired) that the mace tuned chip was for a vs l67 with stage 2 cam and throttle body. Soooo! your saying I can use that chip in the stock standard statesman vs (ecotec) auto ECU!!!!!
 

Utel67

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
341
Reaction score
144
Points
43
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
Vs s3 ute
Yes you can use that chip in the Ecotec ecu.
 

Sacha schonberger

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
60
Location
Hamilton NZ
Members Ride
Vs ute
Hi folks, I'm new to the forum, looking for tips on a conversion, i have a vs ute 3.8 ecotec/auto. I've just bought a vx s/c calais complete running car. Should i gut the loom etc from the ute and change everything from the calais?, or just change parts and ecu & modules into the ute's loom etc.
 

Utel67

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
341
Reaction score
144
Points
43
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
Vs s3 ute
Use all the vs wiring just lengthen the wires that need doing, grab a vs L67 memcal with no vats and plug it in the vs PCM, you will need to drill and tap a hole under the thermostat housing for dash temp sender.
 

Sacha schonberger

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
60
Location
Hamilton NZ
Members Ride
Vs ute
Use all the vs wiring just lengthen the wires that need doing, grab a vs L67 memcal with no vats and plug it in the vs PCM, you will need to drill and tap a hole under the thermostat housing for dash temp sender.
Cheers, that'll make it easier. My ute has no extra's except central lock, no abs, no airbags.
 

krusing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
3,317
Reaction score
1,798
Points
113
Location
Melbourne Bayside 3193
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
Do you need to drill and tap a hole ?,
As the Temp Sender on a L67, is located at the back on the left hand side, below the Thermostat Housing, [also below the blower bypass solenoid]
 

Utel67

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2019
Messages
341
Reaction score
144
Points
43
Location
Tasmania
Members Ride
Vs s3 ute
Do you need to drill and tap a hole ?,
As the Temp Sender on a L67, is located at the back on the left hand side, below the Thermostat Housing, [also below the blower bypass solenoid]

That sensor is for the PCM, if you want the dash one to work it requires a temp sender to be fitted.

Vs L67's had a adaptor on the back of the Lim (lower intake manifold) for the sender, Vt-Vy L67'S do not have it.
 
Top