Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vt 5 speed question

fabz

I Can Do Science Me
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
912
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Age
38
Location
In My Car!!
Members Ride
Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
Just want to find out if there is a way i can get the lock that stops you starting your car unless the clutch it depressed? Had a friend jump in as a smart ass and started it as it was in first gear it lept forward and hit the towball on the car infront of me. No damage just a bent number plate but i want to stop this from happening again. Any help would be great with this would be great :)
 

Shounak

The Kicking Horse
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
2,500
Reaction score
60
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Vic
Members Ride
VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
Did ya smack him out?

I would have.. I got infuriated reading that, oh dear..
 

SweetWagon

booosted
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
2,139
Reaction score
19
Points
38
Age
32
Location
Springwood NSW
Members Ride
VS Berlina Wagon Supercharged
Wouldnt be too hard, just get a genuine cruise control clutch switch and get a sparky to wire it up for you..
 

minux

Infidel Bear
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
6,927
Reaction score
232
Points
63
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
300rwkw FG G6ET/Specialized Tarmac SL4
Why don't you just not allow c0cksuckers to have your keys? :)
 

knowledge_is_power

Quest for Cognition
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
288
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Nth Brisbane
Members Ride
VT SII V6 A4
As minux said get the switch used for the clutch on cruise control models. If you already have cruise then your half way there. It would be easy to wire up. Use the clutch switch to activate a relay placed on the start wire.

Jezz
 

fabz

I Can Do Science Me
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
912
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Age
38
Location
In My Car!!
Members Ride
Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
Cheers guys, yeah i wanted to smack him at that time but i got over it. He got me a bottle of rum so im cool with it. He thought all manual cars had the switch to stop them form starting in gear, but he was wrong. Car was sitting in the car park with keys in it while we where havin a chat and he was "trying to steal it" hahahaha i make fun of him now hahahah
Cheers for the advice i will look into it but i dont have cruise as its a exec. Might look at setting up a package for it.
 

SweetWagon

booosted
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
2,139
Reaction score
19
Points
38
Age
32
Location
Springwood NSW
Members Ride
VS Berlina Wagon Supercharged
As minux said get the switch used for the clutch on cruise control models. If you already have cruise then your half way there. It would be easy to wire up. Use the clutch switch to activate a relay placed on the start wire.

Jezz
dont give minux the credit for my idea :p
 

fabz

I Can Do Science Me
Joined
Jul 10, 2005
Messages
912
Reaction score
10
Points
0
Age
38
Location
In My Car!!
Members Ride
Blown V6 VT commodore 5 speed
hahahaha..... and so on and so forth
 

knowledge_is_power

Quest for Cognition
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
288
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Nth Brisbane
Members Ride
VT SII V6 A4
My apologies VN6PWR. I don't know how I made that mistake. :bang:

I'll pay more attention in the future.:whistling

Jezz
 
Top