Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VT cruise Control not working after lights turned on

WAGON MAN

Gas Sleeper
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
11
Points
38
Location
North Coast , NSW
Members Ride
VX S2 Berlina Wagon with Phreddied bits.
Do you have a trailer harness attached to the right hand rear tailight?
 

Legman_oz

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
99 VT Exec
Yes, there is a trailer harness, but i dont know exactly where it attaches to?

are you thinking that there might be a short in there?
 

VTS5

TechJunkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
1,243
Reaction score
157
Points
63
Location
Sth.East\Melb
Members Ride
VE OMEGA 3.6L Dual Fuel
Do you have a trailer harness attached to the right hand rear tailight?
Dont mean to hijacking the thread,but i do have one connected to the r/h/r t/light and my c/c also not working (can turn it on tho)..
 

WAGON MAN

Gas Sleeper
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
11
Points
38
Location
North Coast , NSW
Members Ride
VX S2 Berlina Wagon with Phreddied bits.
Sometimes the trailer harness can have a short or may not be wired properly if a non genuine harness is fitted.

Try disconnecting the trailer harness.

It is located at the RHR tailight or simply follow the trailer harness to where it plugs in.

Once disconnected test operation of the cruise control.
 

Legman_oz

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
99 VT Exec
Ok, i managed to solve the issue, it turns out that whoever installed the aftermarket lights (on the car when i bought it) screwed up the wiring of the globe holders, the mis-wired the active for the parkers to the common feed.

How they missed this in their testing is beyond me, as both filaments light up when you turn the lights on. I actually spotted it ages ago but thought i was dreaming it.....

Anyway, thank you to everyone who offered assistance to helping solve my dilemma
 

Pommy09

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VT Commodore S2
i have the same problem here when i turn my parkers on, i can't set my speed for cruise control. ive also happened to notice that when i break, my parkers come on, how do i check this out?
 

Gw33dz

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
62
Reaction score
13
Points
8
Location
New South Wales
Members Ride
VX S Pac S2, VX S2 Acclaim Wagon
I had this problem and solved it, thought i would share.

I installed LED globes all round then i had the problem

Put standard incandescent brake globes back in and it solved the problem.

I left the third brake light as an LED though.

Hope this helps some poor bastard, who like me, loves cruise control.... and LED's.
 
Top