Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vx fault codes

T

trevcom

Guest
Hi all ..first time post... can someone tell me if i can access fault codes on this model or do i need diagnostic tool Am having start problems when car is hot & stopped for a short time & will check CAS any other suggestions

trevcom
 

BOGANV8

I gotta V8 whoot whoot
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
698
Reaction score
13
Points
0
Age
41
Location
Armidale
Members Ride
VX 02 SS LS1
i think ya need tech 2 machine from holden to check any fault codes in the system

Someone else can confirm :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
 

TigerVX

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
471
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Members Ride
2000 VX Commodore
Check out this thread for details on how to check fault codes.

http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/showthread.php?t=23665

Error codes on a VX are show in four digits rather than two digits.
So a code 12 (all OK) is shown as 0012.
eg. Ten flashes, Ten Flashes, One Flash then Two Flashes. (Ten translates as a zero)
 

BOGANV8

I gotta V8 whoot whoot
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
698
Reaction score
13
Points
0
Age
41
Location
Armidale
Members Ride
VX 02 SS LS1
will this work on a V8 5.7 Ltr
 

Doctor Bob

Grandpa
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
2,792
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Retired
Members Ride
RG. Colorado & Caravan
no the V8 uses a different data format & needs a scan tool

Rob
 

BOGANV8

I gotta V8 whoot whoot
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
698
Reaction score
13
Points
0
Age
41
Location
Armidale
Members Ride
VX 02 SS LS1
:ranting: :ranting: :ranting: :ranting: :ranting: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:


Well that sucks then
 

WinterVX

Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
325
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
N/A
10 flashes represents 0 does it not?

If so, what does code 00 stand for?



Edit:

Never mind, looks like its 00 12 system operational :)
 
Last edited:

TigerVX

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
471
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Members Ride
2000 VX Commodore
10 flashes represents 0 does it not?

If so, what does code 00 stand for?



Edit:

Never mind, looks like its 00 12 system operational :)
Thats right. The code you are getting is 0012 (all normal).
VX codes are displayed as 4 digits. I don't know why though. Seems quite stupid to display four digits when you only need to use two.
For ages I thought I was getting a fault code of 110 (two sets of ten flashes) until Dr Bob explained it.
 

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
2,939
Reaction score
589
Points
113
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VX Executive S2
Thanks tigervx for clearing that up, I thought I had the only weird VX that flashed 20 before the 12
 

bucketeer

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
55
Members Ride
VX Exec Wagon
Why didn't I think of that ?

Error codes on a VX are show in four digits rather than two digits.
So a code 12 (all OK) is shown as 0012.
eg. Ten flashes, Ten Flashes, One Flash then Two Flashes. (Ten translates as a zero)
Thanks Tiger,
I think you PMed me ages ago when I posted the same "problem", now you've cleared the confusion and I can get to sleep at night again, all seems so simple when you look at it from outside the box
Weel done!


Cheers
Bucketeer :w00t:
 
Top