Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VY LS1 Tonner

Bunge

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY LS1 Tonner
Hi I have been trying to find out what transmission I have in my VY11 V8 Tonner, It has M31 on the ID plate and everywhere else I look has M30 which is a 4L60e. Sorry if I've done this wrong this is my first time at forums, thanks in advance for your help.

_R_J_K_

Reaction score
Members Ride
Zenki S14
The only automatics VYs used was the 4l60e bar a few HSV models that had the 4L65e (largely the Avalanche). What's the 4 digit code on the side of the transmission?

The V6 and V8 4L60e aren't interchangeable as well if that was your next question.

Last edited:

Bunge

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY LS1 Tonner
thanks no there is nothing wrong with my transmission I just want know what M31 is, I thought it might be the V8 version of 4L60e 'like the old Holden Ausy 4 speed M20 was six cyl and M21 was V8 version' but when I google it there is nothing! but if I google M30 there is heeps of infomation. I will jack it up later and get the code thanks again. I looked up 4L65e and it uses M32 code.

Last edited:

Bunge

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY LS1 Tonner
Thanks for that well it is a 4 speed transmission so my id must be a misprint I cant find a code laying under the car so I'm just going with 4L60e thanks again

Bunge

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY LS1 Tonner
Hi I found an id code at the rear of my transmission just behind the pan, It is stamped with tiny pin type punches, 3HZD070### from what I can find it is a 4L65e. Is it normal for the transmission to be painted black I had to scratch the paint off to read it.

Just Damo

Reaction score
Members Ride
08 Omega, EA Fairmont (Restoration)