Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Who's got a varajet?

1985VK

Reaction score
Members Ride
VK SL
Love them or hate them. Just wondering who is using a 2 barrel varajet or even a quaddie.
Do you have any tips and tricks to keep them running right?

whats up

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL Calais
Love them or hate them. Just wondering who is using a 2 barrel varajet or even a quaddie.
Do you have any tips and tricks to keep them running right?
:)

Last edited:

shane_3800

Reaction score
Members Ride
vr commo
I'm a technician by trade I have never worked on one and likely never will but when we get carbies in the three 50+ blokes I work with help me. The thing is I'm planing on running a street demon these guys don't know what they are. Carby diag is common sense with the right training, if you can fix a webber than you can fix a quadrajet because diag is the same even though design is different.
I fixed the carb on my mates honda road cruiser bike the guys at work had never worked on one of these carbs. You know how I fixed it? I pulled it down and traced every circuit and found a diaphragm not working because of a blockage and it worked. initial diag was sparying cooking oil on the plunger and the bike ran perfect until the fuel washed it off. So I discovered a port that keeps fuel on the plunger to keep vaccume using a fluid seal.

That is an example of using common sense.

1985VK

Reaction score
Members Ride
VK SL
I have screwed my varajet fuel/air mixture screw all the way in and the engine is running at 900 rpm. Trying to figure out what to look at to get it right.

1985VK

Reaction score
Members Ride
VK SL
When I still had dual fuel I took the carby apart and found the shafts had so much gap you could drive a Mack truck through.