Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Won't Start- Replaced everything

jones262

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2023
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
29
Location
Gympie, QLD
Members Ride
VT V6
Hey guys, my first post here and unfortunately it's not a good one!

Long story short, my car never missed a beat until one afternoon I got in it to leave work and it won't start.

I've got a turbo on the car, still stock tune. But I think this would be unrelated as I've only babied it, it has a 5psi spring in the wastegate and I haven't even hit gate in it yet.

I've driven the car less than 100km since turboing it, but as above I've only driven it like a Grandma.

I've replaced the timing chain with a double-row kit about 100km ago and it ran great uo until it wouldn't start, so I'm certain it's not a timing issue.

Battery has been relocated to the boot.

It's cranking, and kind of firing... but won't run.

Scan tool shows no codes.

I've replaced some parts twice to eliminate the possibility of faulty new parts. The list below is what I've done.

2x Crank Angle sensors
2x Cam position sensors
3x DFI modules
Idle air control valve
Throttle position sensor
MAF sensor
Coilpacks
Plugs
Leads
Injectors
Fuel pump
Fuel pressure regulator
Fuel filter
ECU
BCM
Key - all have been paired together with a tech2

I've got an upgraded fuel pump in it that's seeing 100psi straight off the pump. I don't know how to test regulated pressure as there's no valve on the rail, so I haven't done that.

Tested compression- it's between 130 and 150 across the board.

Had a noid light on all the injectors, they're all receiving pulse.

Tested each individual spark plug and lead, all 6 are getting strong spark.

I got an earth point diagram and checked all my earths are OK.

Have checked all the sensor plugs and engine loom, visually everything is fine.

I don't think it's a security issue because the red light goes out when I have the key to the ON position.


Absolutely any help would be greatly appreciated at the moment because I'm pulling my hair out!!
 
Last edited:

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
5,664
Reaction score
4,487
Points
113
Age
61
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VXii Executive V6 , VYii Adventra LS1
drop a petrol soaked rag in the airbox where air filter goes and see if it starts and idles (remove airfilter)
i dont see fuel filter replaced
 

jones262

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2023
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
29
Location
Gympie, QLD
Members Ride
VT V6
drop a petrol soaked rag in the airbox where air filter goes and see if it starts and idles (remove airfilter)
i dont see fuel filter replaced
Sorry, yes I've replaced the filter as well.

I've got a turbo on it, so no air box.
 

jones262

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2023
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
29
Location
Gympie, QLD
Members Ride
VT V6
Has it ever run with the turbo?
Has it been tuned?
Yes it has been run, I drove it for about a week on the stock tune but have been very easy on it as I don't want to kill it and plan on getting it tuned in the near future.
 

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
5,664
Reaction score
4,487
Points
113
Age
61
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VXii Executive V6 , VYii Adventra LS1
tune answered
spray aero start or similar in where pod would attach and try to start
in future list any mods done to vehicle
was turbo new , good quality, did it have oil to it
 

jones262

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2023
Messages
25
Reaction score
3
Points
3
Age
29
Location
Gympie, QLD
Members Ride
VT V6
tune answered
spray aero start or similar in where pod would attach and try to start
in future list any mods done to vehicle
was turbo new , good quality, did it have oil to it
Its a cheap turbo, but it is new and I made sure to prime it.

I will try aerostart tomorrow, thanks. Do I need to open the throttle body at all or will it suck through on its own?
 

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
5,664
Reaction score
4,487
Points
113
Age
61
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VXii Executive V6 , VYii Adventra LS1
just when cranking and see if it fires and can keep idling
 

lout

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
5,664
Reaction score
4,487
Points
113
Age
61
Location
Langwarrin Victoria
Members Ride
VXii Executive V6 , VYii Adventra LS1
what did you do to map sensor to get it running
 
Top