Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Car Immobilised - Contact Dealer X

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by Dr_Mutley, Mar 21, 2020.

  1. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    Hi all

    I got the dreaded Contact Dealer message above and car won’t attempt to start. I assume the car is immobilised.

    How the occurred:
    Hadn’t started the car in a month and the battery was dead. So I put my spare battery in the boot and contacted it in parallel with the battery. Car started first go and I reversed it out of garage and let it run for 10mins. When I disconnected my spare battery, the car died immediately, as the original battery must have been completely dead (it fails and won’t charge on my charger). Radio will not turn on either. Fuel gauge appears not to work and says “Very Low Fuel” on dash.

    I reconnected my spare battery again and the system start up check says stability control off, and the “Contact Dealer X”. The care seems immobilised and won’t crank.
    Things I have tried:
    - installed brand new battery
    - checked fuses
    - pulled the ECU fuse above the battery
    - connected my spare battery to the front of the car
    - disconnected the battery for a few days

    So gurus! Any further ideas than the ECU being fooked?!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais


    video of the system check - excuse my kids squawking in the background
     
  3. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Personally, I would of removed the dead battery, and charged it externally,
    And placed the good battery in till the other is battery is charged, that's if I was able to be charged.
    Could you have revered the terminals in error ?

    I think the only option first is to disconnect the replacement battery overnight, if you have not done that,
    otherwise, you will have to get it scanned, to see where the error's lies,
    however with my experience with the VE Immobiliser system and Keys, being a RFID system.
    I am tipping your car has forgotten your Key some how.
    Have you got a spare Key to try ?, if so, see if it does the same thing,
    If it does, there is more to it, and a scan would be in order to see what it is doing, well in this case, what its not doing.

    Without a location of where you are located,
    no members are able to direct you to a place that maybe able to assist,
    or for any member maybe able to help you directly.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2020
  4. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    battery polarity certainly not reversed. As stated it ran fine until disconnecting my spare battery. 2 keys, both do the same thing. Southern suburbs of Adelaide
     
  5. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Hmm ok, just had to ask to establish the situation,
    What is the actual voltage at the Battery ?, and at the on-screen mode via the steering wheel controls ?
    I would say either the ECU/BMC and/or the RFID unit has gone to sleep,
    Because it turns on to give you the warning,
    Check all the connections in and around the battery, since you only disturbed that area.
    As a matter of cause, maybe disconnect the ECU and BCM plugs, and re-seat them.
    Otherwise you will need to get is scanned to see why the MIL has been activated, and will pin point the area of the fault.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2020
  6. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    336
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    when you connected the jumper battery did you connect at the post clamp or after the fusible links
    maybe something is faulty in that area
     
  7. 07GTS

    07GTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,040
    Likes Received:
    546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VEGTS BLOWN E85
    check all fuses everywhere engine bay, boot and passenger kick panel just sounds like one is popped like comms or something
     
  8. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    Thanks for the replies guys..,,
    As per picture, battery connected in parallel in boot.... checked fuses at battery, L kick panel, and in engine bay, all seem ok....
     
  9. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    336
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    what is the battery clamp to the right of your booster battery in pic 4
     
  10. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    Hi mate. I only see four clamps in that picture. Two positive, and two negative. There is a black box to the right hand side of the picture which is a charging box for a dual battery (thumper) set up. It’s not currently connected so it’s not associated with this problem.
     
  11. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    Found the issue I think guys....
    I didn’t realise there was a 60A fuse beneath the cover as it was black... I shall replace and see if it’s the culprit...
     
    VS_Pete and krusing like this.
  12. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    Offending 60A fuseable link
     

    Attached Files:

    VS_Pete likes this.
  13. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    336
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    well done
     
  14. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,728
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Are your covers black? Mine were clear.
    Posbatterm.jpg
     
  15. krusing

    krusing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    497
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside Melbourne 3193
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    I 2nd that,
    Well done
     
  16. Freddy Kruger

    Freddy Kruger Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Members Ride:
    '09 VE SS UTE
    If you find an easy way to get a hold of the fusible links let me know. Apart from wreckers, or buying the whole positive terminal and cable for $100+ if Holden Spare Parts are still a thing... I couldnt buy just the fuses part. I ended up getting one from the local Toyota dealer for the 86, wrong amp ratings but $22. But i actually ended up just soldering where it blew, because it didnt pop in the middle of the fuse, it was on the corner of the L shape. Its held up over 2 years with the solder going off the post date of the thread i created.

    Popped mine installing an amp without removing the earth like a complete spud.
     
  17. VS_Pete

    VS_Pete Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,512
    Likes Received:
    10,117
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
    OK I used my Vin Number I`ve got a wagon the part number is 92199315 $55 retail.
    I would say the sedan would be the same.
    Ring holden use your Vin Number for part number.

    Let us know how u go and if it is the same part number
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2020
  18. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    Hi guys... I must say I was lazy and just wanted to get it going, so I just crimped some round terminals on either end of heavy guage wire - I then tinned the ends flat like a spade and pushed a 60A fuseable link on the ends...
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Dr_Mutley

    Dr_Mutley New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais
    One black and one bluish (although that maybe terminal spray?)
     
  20. Apw

    Apw New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE Commodore Sportwagon
    Hi Dr Mutley, is your VE still going? I'm getting exact same warnings on my dash except while I was driving the 'reduced speed' warning msg came up. I pulled over and had a look under the bonnet, not that i know anything about whats under there, so jumped back in turned the key that's when the contact dealer msg came up and wont start. If anyone has any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks
     

Share This Page