Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Check engine light but, no codes?

Commy1608

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
27
Location
Bendigo
Members Ride
Vs statesman Vt commodore
Looking at buying a vz Ute this week but the bloke said its got a check engine light yet no codes are showing. Just wondering if anyone has had a similar issue and if it's possibly something major? Tia
 

mpower

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
4,987
Reaction score
1,563
Points
113
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
V2 CV8 Monaro and VF SSV Redline
no codes according to whom?
 

Commy1608

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
27
Location
Bendigo
Members Ride
Vs statesman Vt commodore
The person selling. Seemed a little odd to me that's why I was wondering if anyone else had the same issue. Only thing I could possibly think is the codes have been cleared and will show up again when it's being driven.
 

mpower

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
4,987
Reaction score
1,563
Points
113
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
V2 CV8 Monaro and VF SSV Redline
The person selling. Seemed a little odd to me that's why I was wondering if anyone else had the same issue. Only thing I could possibly think is the codes have been cleared and will show up again when it's being driven.

probably NFI or lying. There should be some code logged if engine light. Sounds a bit suss, or maybe clueless.
 

gungazza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,597
Reaction score
129
Points
63
Age
65
Location
west suburbs
Members Ride
executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
how many ks v8 0r 6, I would scan it, then run a mile, hows the engine sound, if a 6 cam chains maybe due ,if it sounds rattly, there is a post somewhere here,
that tells you if your car maybe affected, have to check numbers ect, mine is on the list, but at 230,000 still going but a bit rattly on start up ,ill wait till the dredded p0008 code comes up, also check the log book, if it has one, check the trans oil and engine oil
 

gungazza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,597
Reaction score
129
Points
63
Age
65
Location
west suburbs
Members Ride
executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
The person selling. Seemed a little odd to me that's why I was wondering if anyone else had the same issue. Only thing I could possibly think is the codes have been cleared and will show up again when it's being driven.
if it has engine light on a scanner will pick it
 

Commy1608

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Age
27
Location
Bendigo
Members Ride
Vs statesman Vt commodore
That was my thoughts as well, never heard of the engine light being on and not showing a code after being scanned unless it could just be a cheap Chinese scanner that isn't reading properly.

Its a 6 with 200ks on the engine, haven't seen it in person yet but going to check it out later this week and will get a better idea about whether or not to buy it
 

gungazza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,597
Reaction score
129
Points
63
Age
65
Location
west suburbs
Members Ride
executive vt 5.0lt VZ CREWMAN
if your going to get a scanner go on ebay
 
Top