Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

E85 price.

Geoff6666

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vf 1 SSV UTE 6M Phantom
Does anyone know how the price of United E85 is determined?
I've been using it for a few years now, and been really happy to use it!
Higher octane.
Cleaner burning.
Australian made.
Lower price.
. . . . . . until now.
When fuel prices went up a couple of years back they put up E85 which I thought was wrong!
Then when fuel prices went down they didn't reduce the E85??
I filled up yesterday and it was up another 20c per litre!!!
WTF!!!

426Cuda

SUBLIME!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Redline Sedan - A6 Spitfire MSE...
Yeah I've noticed that too. Was $1.51 last weekend. Same ptice as their 98. They really are starting to treat it like V8 Supercar fuel :mad:. Pure profiteering. I won't buy it at these prices. I can buy BP 98 considerably cheaper than that.

VS 5.0

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SSV Z Series M6
E85 is 199.9 in Perth at the moment compared to metro average for 98 of 120.1.

Skylarking

Reaction score
Members Ride
Commodore Motorsport Edition
Aussie wholesale fuel prices are benchmarked against Singapore MOGAS 95 petrol prices (or Malaysian TAPIS crude?). I believe its defined within Aussie legislation that initiated the world parity petrol pricing scheme many many moons ago.

Interestingly, pre COVID issues TAPIS crude was trading at 80USD a barrel @ 0.70AUD/USD ($114/barrel). In the last month, TAPIS crude has gone from 55USD @0.66AUD/USD ($83/barrel) to a low of 24USD @ 0.56AUD/USD ($43/barrel) with little being reflected in retail petrol prices. But over the last few days it increased to 28USD @ 0.59AUD/USD ($47/barrel).