Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

engineering certificate?????

UNEQVN

Reaction score
Members Ride
vn v6
to do a small mod to my chassi i was told i will need an engineering certificate. so thats all good, but where do you get one from? how do you go about it? and how much does it cost? i would love to hear anything at all on this topic, as i have no knowledge on it at all. thnx pps :yeah:

G

getdirty

The RTA/Vicroads websites have a list of approved engineers.

Make sure you speak to them BEFORE you do any mods.

Cost is usually around $600 regardless of what mods you are getting approved.

Shop around though, what one engineer won't approve, another may.

UNEQVN

Reaction score
Members Ride
vn v6
thnx man, someone told me it like $1500 regardless. and you gotta take your car to the place at each stage.

G

getdirty

The engineer I used for mine came out to the workshop and inspected it at each stage. He lived close by though, may have been different if he was further away.

vlv8vic

<---Brad Quaid = internet stalker
Reaction score
Members Ride
M5
does anyone know.... i have a 5L v8 in my vl, i wanna upgrade it to an injected 5L from a VN or VP etc. do i need an engineers report for that? and what 'stages' are you talking about. i mean it would be a half day job (then a few more cos i dont know much about the wiring....) i cant imagine many stages.

vkberlina

VK Madman
Reaction score
Website
www.members.westnet.com.au
Members Ride
VK EFI 5L, VK 134 Pack, LX8 Adventra, MF35 & MF50b
For EFIing a 5L VL your going to need a little more than 1/2 a day.

First of all your going to need a high pressure fuel pump and associated hoses, & wiring.