Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Just bought VR need some advice

toki

Is that a jellyfish?!
Reaction score
Members Ride
1993 VR Sedan
Hey everyone!

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to cars and so I have a few questions about the VR commodore I bought today. Didn't even know where to put oil in the engine till my man showed me :hmmm:

It drives fine, I noticed it needs a wheel alignment or balance (don't know the difference, all I know is it veers slightly to the left haha) but that's about all. Oh and the guy said it's due for a service.

I got it on the cheap so I don't mind and most of these things aren't absolutely essential, but will be getting them fixed and just would like half a clue about what I'm talking about. I would hate to walk into the mechanic and call parts "thingys" and "doo-dads" :) Plus I figure if I sound like I have a clue I'm less likely to get rorted, being female and all.

Ok so heres the minor problems...

Fuel gauge only shows halfway when full. I put 35 litres in it when it had just under 1/4 tank and the fuel gauge only moved to just under 1/2.

Odometer doesn't work, doesn't bother me at all just mentioning it in case it has something to do with fuel gauge. Speedo and Tacho work fine as far as I know.

The heater doesn't work!! Air Con works perfectly, but it's winter, that's no good to me yet. I haven't checked coolant levels as yet as I only got it a few hours ago and its midnight now... waiting till it's light to check levels.

Steering makes a noise when turning. As I said will check power steering fluid levels in the morning and get back to you on the heater and steering possibly, but any other suggestions would be good.