Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

L67 Build

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by DeathSammich, Sep 18, 2017.

  1. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    I'm putting an l67 in my VT Commodore and I'll he using the stock ecotec wiring loom. How can i get the boost bypass solenoid to work because I don't want to be constantly boosting due to fuel consumption. Thanks :)
     
  2. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,644
    Likes Received:
    2,610
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    You only achieve boost when you boot it. The boost solenoid is there to protect the engine when things get really hot to reduce boost.
     
  3. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    So with the ecotec loom it'll still not boost if giving hardly any throttle?
     
  4. immortality

    immortality Home of the smoky breakfast Bacon! Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,644
    Likes Received:
    2,610
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Location:
    Sth Auck, NZ
    Members Ride:
    HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
    The blower has a bypass valve fitted in the inlet to the blower which is controlled via vacuum/boost from under the blower. Under normal driving conditions there is a vacuum in the LIM (lower intake manifold) and this keeps the bypass valve open. If you give it a boot full or a very sharp movement of the throttle than the vacuum in the LIM will drop to 0 (like it does in a n/a car) this takes the vacuum away from the bypass valve which closes and then allows the blower to create positive pressure in the LIM.

    The boost bypass solenoid is fitted into the vacuum line between the bottom of the blower and the bypass valve actuator and this allows the PCM to control the amount of vacuum applied bypass valve actuator and under certain conditions (like when things are getting way to hot) it limits boost by keeping the bypass valve open. During normal day to day driving the boost bypass solenoid doesn't do anything and the engine power (vacuum/boost) is controlled by movement of the throttle.

    How rapidly the boost bypass valve opens and closes can be adjusted by the length of the vacuum hose attached to the boost bypass valve actuator. With no vacuum hose attached it's very responsive :D
     
    EYY likes this.
  5. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,973
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    Immortality's right, the bypass solenoid only does its thing in certain situations - think excess heat, when reverse, neutral and park etc are selected. The vacuum operated flap between the upper and lower manifolds means boost cannot build when there's high manifold vac. I.e. low throttle openings, such as idle and cruise etc.
     
  6. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    Okay because when I look up everyone was saying it is constantly boosting with the solenoid connected so I'm quite confused lol
     
  7. EYY

    EYY Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,973
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VS Statesman
    It'll build boost with the vaccum to the ACTUATOR disconnected. Not the SOLENOID. You don't need the solenoid - lots of people get rid of them because its common for them to leak which means you lose performance even when the actuator is in the closed position.
     
  8. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    I'm using an ecotec loom so is there anyway I can connect the actuator?
     
  9. VK SL 3800

    VK SL 3800 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Location:
    .
    Members Ride:
    VK SL 5spd
    The actuator is not electronic, Vacuum control only.
     
  10. DeathSammich

    DeathSammich Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina S1
    So I should have no problems using an l36 harness then?
     
  11. VK SL 3800

    VK SL 3800 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Location:
    .
    Members Ride:
    VK SL 5spd
    No problems other then the harness being a bit short in places, i cannot confirm as i have not tired to use an L36 harness.
     

Share This Page