Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Manifold glowing red

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by modcon, Jul 29, 2006.

  1. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    Does anyone know what causes a VN 3.8 to run rough and the exhaust to
    glow red after idling for 30 sec at 3000rpm?
     
  2. 253@7k

    253@7k 300rwhp supra. yay.

    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    TT Supra/HZ Ute.
    30 seconds at 3000 rpm, thats what makes it glow. That would get very hot with no air flowing over it.

    Did the buic 3.8's ever run smooth? Running rough is a broad term, is it missing or just idling like cr*p?
     
  3. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    It was running sweet, then I changed the CAS, and the coil pack, then it run rough backfiring ect... so I put the original coil pack back on and still rough.
    I have tryed a brand new coil and DFI but still running rough. It probably in the wiring somewhere, I have tryed all the common problem areas
     
  4. 253@7k

    253@7k 300rwhp supra. yay.

    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Members Ride:
    TT Supra/HZ Ute.
    I would be going with spark plug leads.
     
  5. Shortstuff

    Shortstuff Random

    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2016 Golf GTI PP
    I know it sounds pretty obvious, but all the HT leads are on in the right order after changing the coil pack? Very easy mistake if all the leads are off at the same time!
     
  6. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    new spark plugs, new leads and the leads are on in the right order, I've checked numerous times, the manifold is glowing in just one part of the join, I'm wondering if there is a leak
     
  7. commy92

    commy92 New Member

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VP WAGON V6
    ide say more of a blockage. stock manifolds should not glow
     
  8. HATER VP

    HATER VP Guest

    Burnouts or dyno run
     
  9. jules

    jules we like the bun

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Members Ride:
    pimpin
    at a guess i'd agree. a misfire won't cause the manifold to glow. take your cat off and shake it, if it rattles apparently that's a sign it's history. you can look inside a bit with a torch as well.
     
  10. bush_basha

    bush_basha New Member

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Location:
    Mackay, North QLD
    Members Ride:
    VE GTS
    yes i would 98% say its your cat, i have a V8 and it wasnt reving over 3-4 took it to the mechanics, they noticed the glowing of the and fixed it.
     
  11. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    Sorry for my ignorance, but what is the cat short for, and where do I locate it. If you mean the cat converter it doesn't have one, it is running straight pipe with two coby's, the manifold on both sides was taken off when we done the engine change if that is any help
     
  12. Patrio7

    Patrio7 3Y3 K4N 5P33K 1337.

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Perth, Como
    Members Ride:
    '96 S1 VS Exec
    the cat is normally located at the bottom of the manifold just after where it joins, even with an upgraded pipe the car should still have a cat

    and yes cat = Catalyic Converter
     
  13. AirStrike

    AirStrike Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    91' VN SS
    Since you have some dodgy pipe going on, by any chance did you put the O2 sensor back on?
    AirStrike :air:
     
  14. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    The New Zealand VN didn't come out with the O2 sensor
     
  15. commy92

    commy92 New Member

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VP WAGON V6
    errrr??? hmm
     
  16. AirStrike

    AirStrike Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    91' VN SS
    Hmmmm I know they dont run a cat, but how can it not run an o2 sensor? Its a crucial part of the efi system.
    AirStrike :air:
     
  17. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    I discovered about 6 months ago when I brought a chip from blackstar (E bay), I had the fault light come on(code44 O2 lean) then after investagating the O2 sensor I discovered the NZ vn didn't have one it has a different set up, it has a O2 loom system, the NZ VP came out with the O2 sensor... I know Kiwis should just stick to rugby and leave Holdens to the Auzzies. I have just brough a VP so I'm going to take the VN into Holden to get it fixed and then flick it off(after I change the lowering system and mags over of course)
     
  18. jules

    jules we like the bun

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Members Ride:
    pimpin
    i don't see how it cannot have an O2 sensor. as Airstrike said its the fundamental control point of an engine mgt. system. it's like saying it doens't have pistons.
     
  19. AirStrike

    AirStrike Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    91' VN SS
    Yep! I still think this is your problem, all EFI vehicles run an O2 sensor.
    AirStrike :air:
     
  20. modcon

    modcon New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland West
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VN 3.8 / VP 3.8
    Trust me - the New Zealand VN didn't come out with an O2 sensor!!! Holden New Zealand has confirmed this, I have had a look at over 20 VN's in the last three months to see if any of them have the sensor, none of them do they all have a bung in the place the sensor should be. I know it's hard for you guys to understand as every Auzzie VN came out with the sensor, do a little research and you will find this information is accurate. As for me iv'e had enough of the VN that's why Iv'e brough a VP
     

Share This Page