Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Replaced headunit and now have no dash cluster lights

ChrisOk1

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Australia
Members Ride
2001 VX S Pac
I just replaced my headunit with a Sony GT80UI and I purchased the steering wheel control harness off eBay. Now I have all the wires connected up properly but I have two wires left over and the headunit harness has no where to put these wires, I would imagine these are the wires for the illumination, so I'm just wondering where I connect those to get my dash cluster illumination going. The two wires I have left are a grey wire and a yellow (w/ black stripe). Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
 

kangavxss

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
486
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
2002 VX SS
Did you advise the company that supplied the harness which exact model of head unit u were installing. The one i bought was just plug and play and it worked straight away. Check if the harness is the correct one.
 

ChrisOk1

Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Australia
Members Ride
2001 VX S Pac
We got it going turned out that I had missed a fuse when I was checking them which had blown (we blew another one later that day) but it's all working now. Thanks for that
 

vxcalais_01

Active Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
1,257
Reaction score
11
Points
38
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VX Calais 3.8
We got it going turned out that I had missed a fuse when I was checking them which had blown (we blew another one later that day) but it's all working now. Thanks for that
Doesn't connecting the illumination wire blow the fuses ?
 
Top