Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Torque Wrenches 2.0

VT2Commie

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
470
Reaction score
372
Points
63
Location
WA
Members Ride
VT2 Clubsport R8
I went all out on torque wrenches. Snap-on 1/2 in. and a Snap-on 3/8 in. electronic. Magic things, you can set the head offset for crows feet or if you have a fastener in a hard to reach spot, add an extention spanner to them.

I got a Repco "click" beam for wheel nuts and leave the Snap-on for the precision stuff.

All this plastic to aluminium crap in cars these days, ya can't just "nip" it up and she'll be right anymore. It'll either leak if not tight enough or break/crush at operating temp if too tight.
 

Deuce

Super Stock
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
4,577
Reaction score
4,889
Points
113
Location
Snobs Rock (or so the locals say)
Members Ride
'94 VR SS V8
I've got 1/2"
I've got 3/8" (most used item)
And I have 1/4"

Also have a simple 1/2" deflecting beam that I mostly use for wheel nuts and less precise precision stuff (if that makes sense)

I'll come back and fill in brands and ranges later....
Update:
1/2" summit racing equipment
3/8" performance tool
1/4" Toledo

Deflecting 1/2" dunno, but made in Taiwan.
 

Drawnnite

Obviously Unsensible
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
2,081
Reaction score
2,398
Points
113
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
2000 Vs Ute
Ive tried explaining to people at work that you should turn the tension back to the lowest when not using it.
Even though we only have 1 tension value to go to as a standard.
They look at me like I'm some sort of idiot for suggesting this, or complain that when they find it not already at the setting that its stupid.

Am i in the wrong here or are they all too stubborn and have no mechanical idea?
It effects the calibration over time yeah?

*All my own personal ones i return to the lowest settings when not in use.
 

vc commodore

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
10,883
Reaction score
13,133
Points
113
Location
Like the Leyland Brothers
Members Ride
VC, VH and VY
Ive tried explaining to people at work that you should turn the tension back to the lowest when not using it.
Even though we only have 1 tension value to go to as a standard.
They look at me like I'm some sort of idiot for suggesting this, or complain that when they find it not already at the setting that its stupid.

Am i in the wrong here or are they all too stubborn and have no mechanical idea?
It effects the calibration over time yeah?

*All my own personal ones i return to the lowest settings when not in use.

Mine is always at the lowest setting when I'm finished with it.....So that makes 2 of us wrong if that is the case
 

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
22,981
Reaction score
21,640
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VT s2 Exec, VX Calais II L67
Ive tried explaining to people at work that you should turn the tension back to the lowest when not using it.
Even though we only have 1 tension value to go to as a standard.
They look at me like I'm some sort of idiot for suggesting this, or complain that when they find it not already at the setting that its stupid.

Am i in the wrong here or are they all too stubborn and have no mechanical idea?
It effects the calibration over time yeah?

*All my own personal ones i return to the lowest settings when not in use.

I read the same somewhere so I do that, it only takes a few seconds more at the end of a job.
 

VS 5.0

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
8,117
Reaction score
14,942
Points
113
Location
Perth WA
Members Ride
VE SSV Z Series M6
Ive tried explaining to people at work that you should turn the tension back to the lowest when not using it.
Even though we only have 1 tension value to go to as a standard.
They look at me like I'm some sort of idiot for suggesting this, or complain that when they find it not already at the setting that its stupid.

Am i in the wrong here or are they all too stubborn and have no mechanical idea?
It effects the calibration over time yeah?

*All my own personal ones i return to the lowest settings when not in use.

Young bloke also mentioned that should be done.
 

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
22,981
Reaction score
21,640
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VT s2 Exec, VX Calais II L67
At work we had torque wrenches on each press set for the correct torque for a specific job and were never adjusted. Funny thing was, one of the big island boys said those bolts still came loose so after the torque wrench "clicked" he would continue to tighten said bolts....
 
Last edited:

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
23,355
Reaction score
23,808
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
I was told many years ago to set it back to zero once you're done. So like those above I've done it since I bought mine 15 or so years ago.
 

Drawnnite

Obviously Unsensible
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
2,081
Reaction score
2,398
Points
113
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
2000 Vs Ute
I should note, its not for the deflecting beam type :p
Would be curious to see how it effects and strays from the calibrated values over time.

*do Also want to note, the guys at work have next to no mechanical knowledge or abilities.
 

Deuce

Super Stock
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
4,577
Reaction score
4,889
Points
113
Location
Snobs Rock (or so the locals say)
Members Ride
'94 VR SS V8
Ive tried explaining to people at work that you should turn the tension back to the lowest when not using it.
Even though we only have 1 tension value to go to as a standard.
They look at me like I'm some sort of idiot for suggesting this, or complain that when they find it not already at the setting that its stupid.

Am i in the wrong here or are they all too stubborn and have no mechanical idea?
It effects the calibration over time yeah?

*All my own personal ones i return to the lowest settings when not in use.
Yes, another one who always returns to zero.
Even if the job is only half finished, I will return to zero for overnight storage, even to go back to where it was the next day
Heck I'll probably return to zero when finished with it on one side of the car before repeating the entire process on the other side.

The spring tension load will go soft over time (a long time) if left under strain constantly. Return to zero to relieve strain and maintain calibration longer.
 
Top