Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VS Caprice Idle Problem

Danie

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VN SS
I have had a few idle problems with my VS, ive read the other post on this but it hasnt been much help. I was thinking maybe someone could give me a few ideas. The car idles up and down, backfires when i rev it. The rev gauge constantly bounces up and down erratically and so does my monster tacho. Also the fuel average has gone up heaps. I tried changes the plugs and leads, new oxy censor, cleaned the throttle body And just today changed the IAC motor. Given the car a full service with new oil and fuel filter.. but still no change. Everytime i take it someplace, every mechanic says its something different. Im totally stuck here on what the problem could be. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated
 

clubby_you

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
193
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs clubsport
v6 or v8 bud
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
434
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
if its V8 and rev counters going mad ide be looking at the ignition module coil and dizzy
 

Danie

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VN SS
Its a V8, and i forgot, i actually didnt change the oxy censor yet :S, Thought i did, but yeh.. Umm, forgive me, but What is the ignition module?????
 

Danie

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VN SS
Should also mention i took the car to holden to hook it up to the computer and that came up clear
 

jokerflingo

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
Holden VY SS 2003 - 6 Speed Manual
Should also mention i took the car to holden to hook it up to the computer and that came up clear
Couldn't you do that at home as everyone else has done? Or am i missing something?
 

Danie

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VN SS
Okay.. Um.. if i knew HOW to do it at home, i would have, But my ex bf has a mate at holden and they did it cheap for me so thats why i took it there
 
Top