Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] VT/VX/VY Manual Conversion tips

Discussion in 'V6 Development And Modification' started by DavidPartay, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    You can continue using the same BCM and wiring loom, however due to my experience in getting the PCM reprogrammed I think it will be easier and cheaper if you are able to locate a manual PCM and have it linked to your BCM. But ring around and try to find places who are actually able to do the work, don't send the PCM off to some random person on the Internet to do it for you...
     
  2. madrx3boy

    madrx3boy Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    98 VT Acclaim
    Thanks mate, I read further up the page something about getting the PCM out of the [manual model] of the car its going into - how will this work for the models which never had a manual from the factory (eg Calais, Berlina, Acclaim)?
     
  3. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    I would assume that for the Berlina and Acclaim, as long as it's for the NA V6 it should work fine... I'm not sure if there are variations in the BCM design for the higher-end models though that may cause conflicts? At the end of the day though, the PCM is just the powertrain control module and I'd suggest they have a fair degree of interoperability. But I'm no expert :)
     
  4. stevoss

    stevoss New Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    newy
    Members Ride:
    s2 vt ss
    having done this with a ls1 i would say yes but with the v6 its not as easy to adjust the tune so just swap everything loom bcm pcm and key
     
  5. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    No need to swap everything, just the PCM and get a good auto electrician to link it to the BCM.
     
  6. stevoss

    stevoss New Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    newy
    Members Ride:
    s2 vt ss
    yep if you dont have it, but if you have the same spec level bcm it will start and drive no worries.
     
  7. madrx3boy

    madrx3boy Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    98 VT Acclaim
    Yeah that's what I would assume too - PCMs from 2 cars of same engine, trans, and similar age, but different sub-models, would be the same. I might contact Holden and see if the part #'s for PCMs of the different sub-models are the same.
     
  8. Superchargedvycommodore

    Superchargedvycommodore New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    Vy commodore
    Hi guys have a vy v6 commodore series 2 would I need to change my cluster when I convert it to manual or can I use the auto cluster thanks
     
  9. madrx3boy

    madrx3boy Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    98 VT Acclaim
    Still haven't had time to do the conversion, hoping to get around to it in the Christmas holidays.

    Anyway I have another question - are the flywheel bolts and thrust bearing the same for both the dual-mass and single-mass setups? Or are they different? Can anyone provide me with part numbers for these to suit the single mass setup (doesn't matter if it's Holden part #s or aftermarket eg Exedy).

    Cheers
     
  10. DevilDRake

    DevilDRake Braaaap

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Skye
    Members Ride:
    2006 VZ SS 6L Ute
    When I did my clutch the flywheel bolts were different lengths (as Solid mass flywheel is smaller than a dual mass) But the clutch kit should come with the bolts to suit.
     
  11. madrx3boy

    madrx3boy Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    98 VT Acclaim
    Ok I put the clutch pedal and master in today. Just one small problem is the cruise control switch - there doesn't seem to be any plug nearby for it. I would have though maybe a flylead coming off the one on the brake pedal but nothing. I see that the the brake pedal switch has 2 spare spade terminals on it - are they to be joined to the clutch switch? This is on a VX Calais. Cheers
     
  12. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    Ok, so the V6 manuals didn't come with cruise control, so no connector exists for the clutch.

    I did get around this by using a couple of wires + connectors, but I can't remember exactly how it works. If it detects a closed circuit when you hit the brake, then you can wire them in parallel, otherwise you'll have to wire them in series from the brake to the clutch. In the end I think I found out by trial and error - plugged it in one way, didn't work, plugged it in the other way, it did work.

    To answer half your other question, the thrust bolt remains the same.
     
  13. boganracing

    boganracing Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    regents park
    Members Ride:
    vs berlina s2
    did you need the plate that bolts to the transmission tunnel with rubber boot that the shifter goes through?
     
  14. Local_hoon

    Local_hoon New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Vu executive 5 speed
    Hey guys sorry for digging up a old thread but will a Vt wagon manual ecu and bcm work in a vu s1 exec manual bc it has a auto vx ecu in it now and it fucks with the revs, it has no abs or power windows tho
     
  15. Frankiee

    Frankiee New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden vx commodore v6
    So guys I got vats taken out of my Ecu so any key can start my vx but it's cranking over trying to start but than have to wait as only let me crank it over when it want to though a code but only got Ecu done 2 days ago
     
  16. Frankiee

    Frankiee New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Holden vx commodore v6
    So guy having once again another problem car running and driving but got a wired noise coming from gear box and cars running like **** here a video of any one had this problem and has fix it let me know would be much appreciated it making like a gaping noise from gear box I think when driveing and iderling no power in car what's so ever it had more go when it was auto
     
  17. Jos_h

    Jos_h New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2019
    Location:
    South Australia
    Members Ride:
    Vy l67
    Hi mate sorry to be a pain but could reupload this photo
     
  18. DavidPartay

    DavidPartay somewhat awesome

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2009 Subaru Liberty
    Hi guys, here's the photo of the auto and manual speed sensor and back up switch plug diagrams from the workshop manual:

    [​IMG]

    Sorry I can't help with any of the other issues - did this conversion nearly 10 years ago and sold the car in 2016!
     
  19. Aussie Trev

    Aussie Trev Active Member

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Location:
    Queensland
    Members Ride:
    2 by VX Acclaim Wagon Series II 2001 & 2002
    Remember the good old days when you could go to a wreckers, grab the parts and convert your 202 Trimatic to a 308 Manual in an afternoon with a few simple hand tools? Ah, those were the days my friend.
     
  20. Jesse Daniels

    Jesse Daniels New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    Vy v6 Executive s2 04
    Can you re post the pictures?
     

Share This Page