Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Diagnosing Slipped Cam Chain VE LEO 2006

OZTRAX

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE OMEGA 2006 AND 2008
My background is as an aircraft mechanic and the reciprocating engines we maintain are dead simple with no ECUs, cam chains and are air cooled.
But have developed some skill in diagnosing automobile systems and servicing air conditioners.
Been helping a mate out with a 2006 VE with a LEO engine. 200K on ODO. He bought it for a song, and the seller said "the chains have been done recently".
He fell for that line, recent must have been when they made the engine........................

An airflow sensor clean and 2-wheel speed sensors got it on the road, and it seemed to run quiet and smooth.
I have a Snap-On solus pro diagnostic tool ($2000 in its day), put that on and no DTCs found. So far so good.
Then we took it for a quick local drive and on came CHECK ENGINE, DTC was a P00018 bank 2 cam correlation error. Cleared it and didn't come on with car stationary but came on up hills or acceleration.

The Solus pro allows you to view the cam and crank sensor wave forms, which i monitored while my mate drove. This is a LEO with only VVT inlet phasers fitted.
I will endeavor to download those waveforms snapshots and put them on here.
The 2/4/6 bank had waveforms matching but under acceleration i could see the inlet cam lagging, not a huge amount but noticeable.
I can't supply how many degrees out as this involves a separate scope and comparing it to a known waveform, probably the other bank would suffice.
DTC P00018 should trigger with 9 degrees mismatch and 10 secs from memory. I think this widened to 11 degrees with latest ECU software revision which i think this car has.