Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

1st day owning Ve and towtrucked home

Simso1

Reaction score
Members Ride
Ve omega ute
Folks, just bought an omega v6 ute today, private sale and unfortunatley broke down on the maiden voyage home, got tow trucked home. Catostrophic failure.

So hello and I have a question.

Pretty sure timing belt has failed, is there recommended brands of belts etc. My son is an auto mechanic and Im an ex aircraft engine mechanic.

Long story short, driving 90 on the freeway got a engine light and a centre display check oil, i put the indicator on and changed across two lanes, as changing across the lanes, lost acceleration power and then massive clunking banging from the engine, i switched the motor of and coasted off the highway.

checked oil and it was good, no leaks under the car etc, went to start car, it started instantly but large banging clunking sounds like a thrown bearing

got tow trucked home, son ran some codes and they point to misfires and timing issues, he started and instantly turned it off, said its likely timing belt and its so bad it can possibly jump a tooth so dont run it, anyone had something simliar happen?

krusing

Well-Known Member, Possibly for the wrong reasons
Reaction score
Members Ride
2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
It could be chains,
But it does sound a bit worse than just chains,
If the check oil indication illuminated, I would say its the oil pump,
then a lack of oil
Engines usually seize without warning on VE's,
But you wont really know till you start to pull it down.

Last edited:

blackvxss

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SS, VE SS ute, VZ SS crewman, VYSS, VX SS, VTSS