Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

ecotec oil capacity?

pillzor

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
664
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Members Ride
VS executive
couldnt get the filter out, whats the trick too it?
 

VYMAD

SILVERFOX
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
1,908
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Age
46
Location
BUNDABERG Q
Members Ride
VY EXECUTIVE S2
couldnt get the filter out, whats the trick too it?
Should just unscrew, you may need a filter removal tool if it's tight. I use one for every filter removal, even though it's only been on there for 7k.They are cheap to buy from auto shops. ....Or there's the screwdriver method.....
 

Brett_jjj

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
6,805
Reaction score
96
Points
48
Location
Tamworth NSW
Members Ride
vs commodore
If you cant get the oil filter out you can jamb a screwdriver through it and use the screwdriver to turn the filter to loosen it.(very messy).What you really need is an oil filter wrench,they are cheap to buy,get a metal circle rachet type one,they seem to work best,Ive used some strap ones and they fail.
 

pillzor

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
664
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Members Ride
VS executive
just grabbed a tool for $8 but **** it for today, the engine bay is hot and i want to drink beer now :p
 

pillzor

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
664
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Members Ride
VS executive
i actually did, this is my first beer in about 3 months .... must be something about being under a car on a hot day.
either way i dont drink drive. EVER
 

baza

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
165
Reaction score
3
Points
16
Age
69
Location
central coast, nsw
Members Ride
vy ss 2003 auto sedan
series 1 ecotec is 4.3 liters , some motors had oil consumption problems poor piston ring tension and excessive valve guide clearance. some were fixed under warranty and got new dipsticks with higher oil levels , these took 4.8 liters. i used to have a series 2 vs ecotec and it took 4.8 liters as well. i only know about vs not later ecotecs , cheers.......
 

VS_Pete

Donating Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
4,871
Reaction score
18,722
Points
113
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
wrong thread omg
 
Last edited:

hako

Donating Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
8,020
Reaction score
89
Points
48
Age
78
Location
Toowoomba SE QLD
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
There are two different sumps.
I think the bigger sumps where an option.
Two different filters too.
Pete - are you talking about the auto transmission?....:beer chug:
 

VS_Pete

Donating Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
4,871
Reaction score
18,722
Points
113
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VE II SV6 MY12 SPORTWAGON
hehe yes my bad.
OMG
 
Top