Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Is this worth tuning...

Ron Burgundy

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF II SS
I recently installed K&N setup on LS3. Duct only and K&N AIR filter...

I called the tuner and wanted to book my car in for a tune.

He basically said this would not make much difference even with tune and that VCM tuned would give me extra 30kw compared to K&N setup....

I am not sure what to do know as I really prefer this setup to VCM for a number of reasons...

I am not entirely convinced that the difference would be 30kw between these two options...but I have little experience with all this...

Thoughts ?

2 questions for VCM owners...

How often do you have to clean the air filter ?
Is filter visible through the grille and what would this mean for driving in heavy rain at high speed...?

Attachments

• Screenshot_20210326-100725_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20210326-100725_Gallery.jpg
    598.6 KB · Views: 175

Ginger Beer

Reaction score
Members Ride
Dunnydoore
Find a good tuner and get it tuned on a dyno

Flash tunes are piss

Ron Burgundy

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF II SS
Find a good tuner and get it tuned on a dyno

Flash tunes are piss

This is the dyno tune i am talking about and this guy has been in the game for years....

dassaur

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Calais V V8 Wagon
This is the dyno tune i am talking about
I love my tune, I do have a vcm but the timing and gearbox is so much better. Drives so differently. Is yours auto? If it is I wouldn't hesitate. The question is whether or not you plan future upgrades and whether to wait etc
I have done 3k kms with it and it is squeaky clean. Unless the rain is coming down just about horizontal I don't think it will impact.

warrick

Reaction score
Website
members.cardomain.com
Members Ride
VF 6.0 CALAIS V