Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Power Window Technical Support

derjizm

www.F2thaK.com
Reaction score
Website
www.F2thaK.com
Members Ride
'86 VL Berlina RB30E
Hi guys,

I'm trying to convert to power windows in my Berlina but Im having problems.

I have done lots of testing and Im quite sure the main switch is the problem, but I have thoroughly cleaned it with hydrochloric acid.

The drivers window is the only one Im having problems with.

Does anyone know how to confirm the switch as the problem?

What mine is doing is it works sometimes but then it will stop.....

Its really pissing me off!

Any help is appreciated

BTW Im an electrical accessories fitter, pretty much an auto sparky, so I have some knowledge.

Cheers,
Steve

Last edited:

derjizm

www.F2thaK.com
Reaction score
Website
www.F2thaK.com
Members Ride
'86 VL Berlina RB30E
Dont get it... I cleaned the switches internal contacts with sandpaper so theyre all shiny and drivers window worked perfectly for a while. Then it stopped again! Passenger side has never stopped working. Goddamm MOFO.

Kdouble

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Berlina, CX8 Adventra
Could you have a broken wire in the boot between the body and the door, I know it was really common in the VTs, could be that the wire sometimes lines up to work then sometimes doesn't.

My drivers window in the VT sometimes wouldn't work unless I gave the door trim a good smack, it turned out to be the motor itself, one of the bushes was getting stuck, then I managed to snap both of them putting the motor back together so hopefully it's not that.

I'd be looking at the wiring between the door and the connection at the motor aswell

derjizm

www.F2thaK.com
Reaction score
Website
www.F2thaK.com
Members Ride
'86 VL Berlina RB30E