Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Berlina 2011 s2 start up noise and smoke on acceleration

Leroy2480

Reaction score
Members Ride
Holden Berlina 2011 s2
Berlina 2011 s2 tia
Hi, I am no Mechanic so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I have had to deal with some dodgy Mechanics and am left scratching my head.
I presented the first Mechanic with my car, explaining its blowing a lot of blue smoke and running rough. To my surprise the Mechanic said its timing chains, so he did the chain, then the injectors. This didn't fix the problem, and they just left me with the car the same. They left many bolts etc half screwed in, plugs not on properly etc. They didn't charge me for chains or labour but want the injectors paid for. They agreed they misdiagnosed. So I took it to another mechanic, he thought it was to do with censors or something I didn't understand, but he couldn't work it out either. After the 1st Mechanic finished with it, I noticed every time I start it in the morning, it makes a rattling chain sound, then if I turn off and start again it wont do it. Only when its cold.
Its now idling nice, running nice, not blowing smoke in idle, but is blowing quite a lot when you put your foot down. I attatched the last code errors reading from Mechanics. I guess what Im wanting to know is where to go from here, if this motor is worth spending more time and money on. Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited:

gossie

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE International 3.6L
How many kilometres has the car done?
Do you have a full record of proper servicing using correct oils etc.

rambunctious

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Executive Wagon
Berlina 2011 s2 tia
Hi, I am no Mechanic so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I have had to deal with some dodgy Mechanics and am left scratching my head.