Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Hearing high pitched sound (with video)

BakedPete

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
Holden VT Commodore 2000 series 2 olympic edition
I don't know whats wrong
I have checked everything but may be i haven't wired something right?
Can some one please help me.

[video=youtube_share;keKd_UQliEo]http://youtu.be/keKd_UQliEo[/video]
 

StoneX

New Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2005
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
29
Points
0
Age
40
Location
Hastings
Members Ride
VE Calais-V 6.0L
The video is private so it can't be watched.

But from the screenshot I noticed 2 things...
- Powervox are not a very good brand and may reproduce induced noise, but don't know without seeing/hearing the noise.
- Are you plugging and unplugging RCAs with the system running? This is a good way to damage RCA outputs on certain head units which the result ends up being induced engine noise.

Can you tell us what products you have in your stereo? So that we can help you more.
 

BakedPete

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
Holden VT Commodore 2000 series 2 olympic edition
Hi please try watch the video again.
 

BakedPete

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
Holden VT Commodore 2000 series 2 olympic edition
Hi. Please try watch the video again and see if it works.

The sub woofers are max turbos

2200W CAR Subwoofer Enclosure MAX Turbo SUB With LED Boxed | eBay


The speakers in the boxes are kingwood and the green speakers are fusions.

It cant be the amp because when i run the same setup with the sony amp on the right it still does the same thing with the boxed speakers.

I have never and never will take out the RCA cables when the engine is on.
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
122
Points
63
Age
37
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
Not with engine on... Just with head unit on. pioneers were the worst for it...

So to clarify.. if you swap amps but use the same wiring you get the same noise? Can music still be played and heard? Please remove the capacitor and see if it's still doing the same noise.

To clarify before other people chime in, this is NOT alternator whine. It's a high Hz oscillation.
1, I believe it's coming from the head unit, is it possible to try another?
2, remove rca cable from head unit and then plug into amp... does noise appear?
3, try touching first outer ring of rca plug to earth and the centre tip, with the other end plugged into the amp, does this cause the noise to appear?
If 2 & 3 don't help... go back to 1.
 

BakedPete

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
Holden VT Commodore 2000 series 2 olympic edition
I will try all of these tomorrow and will reply back. Thanks.
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
122
Points
63
Age
37
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka

BakedPete

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
Holden VT Commodore 2000 series 2 olympic edition
Yes i can hear the noise when i swap amps.
Yes music can be played and heard (with the noise).
I will remove the capacitor tomorrow and see what happens.

As far as i have read by looking around the net
it could be the ground wire coming from the head unit
or the capacitor could be faulty.
 

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
8,094
Reaction score
122
Points
63
Age
37
Location
S.E. Melbourne
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
A system of that size really won't.be benefiting from a capacitor of that size.
 

BakedPete

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
40
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
Holden VT Commodore 2000 series 2 olympic edition
I know, i just got it for show.
If its the capacitor then i will return it and get a new head unit.
 
Top