Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vk 202 auto to manual conversion

single pegga pig

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vk SL
Hey all, I have myself an 84, carby black 202 vk wagon.
Sadly, it's an auto and I'm wanting to get some advice on manual conversions as I've never done one before.

Treat me as if I know nothing on the subject, because I don't.
I need to know what I'll need, where I'd look to find what I need and roughly how long a job like this might take with a helping hand or two.

Lacksballs

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Members Ride
VK Group C Replica, 1995 VR Sedan
Hey welcome,

Firstly if you only want to have a simple manual gearbox behind your EST 202 then find a cheap M20 (4sp holden tri-matic bolt pattern, flywheel, clutch, bell-housing) then it’s a bolt in with the right pedal box & cable etc. By pass the neutral switch find a manual console insert, lever then you should be ok. Or look for a 5sp Toyota g/box & adopter plate (or drilled bell housing) which is sufficient for a 202/253/308 in std trim (a great trans for the money)

If you have higher aspirations then look for the right trans for the application ie T5/T56/TKO etc if you go hydraulic then a 6 cylinder pedal box will be ox. LS1/2 etc. BUT don’t bother until you’re fitting the final engine choice.

It’s not cheap but it’s a lot more cost effective only doing it one.

If you have all the bits & technically minded a weekend and a box (24 of the finest imported cold beers) that will do.

Good luck.

single pegga pig

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vk SL
Hey welcome,