Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VR wiring Loom issues

JGlinatsis

Ratty
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
Vr Executive 3.8 V6
Hello I'm having trouble with the Loom in my VR executive the loom is a VR Calais I have the BCM and the auto ECU but i think i have done something wrong the headlights wont turn off (Even with the key out) the fuel and temp gage go to the top when the car isnt even started or anything no injectors or fuel pump not kicking over the stage 3 dash doesn't light up but the 2 gages seem to have power going to them but not at the right time so have i missed something i was thinking an earth wire but i cant find one that isnt earthed tail light work no indicter's any suggestions??
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
Did you change the dash and body loom?
 

JGlinatsis

Ratty
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
Vr Executive 3.8 V6
Yes i did full body loom and I have a caprice dash
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
So you replaced the loom that goes from the criuse control around to the drivers side and into the cab. The dash loom that goes across to the all the switches and glove box? (did you chage the climate system heater box or wiring?) If the lights are staying on then possibly something of the VR electrical system remains and should be replaced by the donor Calais. The head light switch needs to be changed too.
 

JGlinatsis

Ratty
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
Vr Executive 3.8 V6
im using the old heater box for now I know it wont work dont have one atm and dont really need a heater i noticed that there was an extra plug for the headlights on the new loom but didnt think it would make much of a differences and all the looms have been changed but the doors and the engine bay loom but the whole body loom is different i can upload pics if that will help
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
im using the old heater box for now I know it wont work dont have one atm and dont really need a heater i noticed that there was an extra plug for the headlights on the new loom but didnt think it would make much of a differences and all the looms have been changed but the doors and the engine bay loom but the whole body loom is different i can upload pics if that will help
The extra plug on the headl light loom is for the fog light switch.

Do you have plug No 3 up the correct way? (orange plug drivers side). Have you used the Calais head light switch?
 

JGlinatsis

Ratty
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
32
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
Vr Executive 3.8 V6
im using all the old switches i have been buying all the stuff peace by peace the loom and bcm came together i just riped out the old loom and put in the new one in I will take pics and you can have a look
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
The head light switch is different to the Exec (I'm sure I've been told that) - go get one (Calais) and that may well solve the issue of you.
 

88GreenVN

Next Exit Left
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
6,795
Reaction score
135
Points
63
Age
57
Location
Surprise, Arizona
Members Ride
Dodge Ram Van 1500 5.2 V8
Check the head light plug wires on the dash between the looms - I'm sure they are different.

When I add spot light plugs to my patch looms I only use the blue wire out of the plug I cut out of the L3 loom. The Exec loom has some grey wires missing from the Calais loom and this points to the head light switch being different.
 
Top