Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Being a mechanic

VSSPak

Reaction score
Members Ride
Holden Commodore VS S Pack
I've been deciding weather to do a Plumbing appreticeship or a Mechanics appreticeship, i mean hell, I love cars and mucking around with them.

I believe I'd enjoy mechanics way more then plumbing, being around cars is great..But whats the money like? Is it well off?

Plumbing i heard is a big trade..earns heaps...I always wanted to own my house n shiz, and Even tho i woudlnt love it as much as beign a mechanic, id do it if its what i had to.

Is mechanics fun? And what is the pay like?

Not_An_Abba_Fan

Exhaust Guru
Reaction score
Members Ride
Strange Rover
I am a mechanic although I dont work as one now....I own my house and have 2 rental properties. I'm 38, married with 2 kids. It is my second marriage, I was left with nearly 10k of debt when my first marriage ended, that was 11 years ago. My current job is a car salesman which I have only been doing for 3 months. What I suppose I am saying is, it doesn't matter what you do but rather what you do with what you have. You do what you enjoy the most and the rest will come to you.

MikesVT

M&M =D
Reaction score
Members Ride
Nothing :'(
If you're in it for the money, Plumbing. I know plumbers that have to say no to a whole bunch of jobs because theyre just flat out. 3 new cars in the driveway, nice house, holiday houses popping up all over the place.

BUT... If you're only in it for the money, you won't last long. You'll get really burnt out really quickly. You're better off doing something you enjoy. I'm sure mechanics are pretty well off, but don't know many myself.

What about being a plumber and doing mechanics as a hobby kind of thing instead, earn that little bit extra cash... But thats alot easier said than done.